Find the Right School

Find a College

Begin Now!

Online Colleges
Campus Colleges
New York Counties
New York County map
Click Image to Enlarge
New York Counties
There are 62 counties in the State of New York. The first twelve counties in New York were created immediately after the British annexation of the Dutch colony of New Amsterdam, although two of these counties have since been abolished. The most recent county formation in New York was in 1912, when Bronx County was created from the portions of New York City that had been annexed from Westchester County. New York's counties are named for a variety of Native American words, British provinces, cities, and royalty, early American statesmen and generals, and state politicians.

Oneida County, New York

Oneida County History, Geography, and Demographics

County Seat: Utica
Year Organized: 1798
Square Miles: 1,213
Court House:

800 Park Avenue
County Office Building
Utica, NY 13501-2939

Etymology - Origin of County Name

Named in honor of an Indian tribe of the Iroquois League


County QuickFacts: Census Bureau Quick Facts

County History

Oneida County is located in central New York State. It was formed from Herkimer County by an act of the Legislature on March 15, 1798. The boundaries of the county were described as follows:
" All that part of Herkimer County beginning at the south-west corner of the town of Bridgewater, and running thence easterly on the line of said town to the Unadilla River, thence northerly and easterly on the line of Bridgewater to the town of Litchfield, thence northerly on the line of Bridgewater and Litchfield to the southeast corner of the town of Paris, thence the same line continued on the the eastern line of Paris and Whitestown to the southerly line of Cosby's Manor, thence north-easterly in a direct line to the northerly bounds of said Cosby's Manor, at a point where the same is intersected by the division line between Gage's and Walton's Patents, thence notherly on the line between the said Walton's and Gage's Patents to the West Canada Creek, thence northerly up the waters of said creek to the forks thereof, thence easterly up the east branch of said creek to the north-east corner of Service's Patent, thence northerly to the northern bounds of this State, thence westerly along the northern of this State to Lake Ontario, thence along the easterly shore of said lake to the mouth of the Oswego River, thence easterly up said river to the Oneida Lake, thence along the southern side of said lake to the Oneida Creek, thence up said creek on the eastern line of the County of Chenango to the northern line of the town of Hamilton, thence easterly along the northern bounds of said towns of Hamilton adn Sangerfield to the north-western corner of the town of Bridgewater, thence southerly on the western line of said town of Bridgewater to the place of the beginning"

Situated in the geographical center of New York State, Oneida County us a county of contrasts. Comprised of productive farmland, and forested areas, and of industrialized urban areas and suburban communities. The principal geographical feature, the Mohawk River Valley, bisects the county in an east-west direction. It was through this historic valley that early Native American trails, trappers’ routes and early military routes were located. When permanent settlement by the Europeans began, the Mohawk River Valley was a primary route of westward travel. Full History at NYSAC


Oneida County is in the central portion of New York State, east of Syracuse, and west of Albany. Oneida Lake is on the northwestern corner of the county, and the Adirondack Park is on the northeast. Part of the Tug Hill Plateau is in the northern part of the county. Interestingly, Oneida County's highest point does lies neither on the plateau nor in the Adirondack Park, but in the county's southern extremity. The peak's name is Tassel Hill. It is located slightly southeast of Hardscrabble Road (Tassel Hill Road), between the villages of Waterville and Cassville.

The Erie Canal bisects the county. Oneida Lake and Oneida Creek form part of the western boundary.

According to the U.S. Census Bureau, the county has a total area of 1,257 square miles (3,256 kmē), of which, 1,213 square miles (3,141 kmē) of it is land and 44 square miles (115 kmē) of it (3.53%) is water.

Neighboring Counties:

  • Lewis County, New York - north
  • Herkimer County, New York - east
  • Otsego County, New York - southeast
  • Madison County, New York - southwest
  • Oswego County, New York - west

Cities and Towns:

- Annsville town
- Augusta town
- Ava town
- Barneveld village Incorporated Area
- Boonville village Incorporated Area
- Bridgewater village Incorporated Area
- Camden village Incorporated Area
- Clayville village Incorporated Area
- Clinton village Incorporated Area
- Deerfield town
- Florence town
- Floyd town
- Forestport town
- Holland Patent village Incorporated Area
- Kirkland town
- Lee town
- Marcy town
- Marshall town
- New Hartford village Incorporated Area
- New York Mills village Incorporated Area
- Oriskany village Incorporated Area
- Oriskany Falls village Incorporated Area
- Osceola town
- Paris town
- Prospect village Incorporated Area
- Remsen village Incorporated Area
- Rome city Incorporated Area
- Sangerfield town
- Sherrill city Incorporated Area
- Steuben town
- Sylvan Beach village Incorporated Area
- Trenton town
- Utica (County Seat) city Incorporated Area
- Vernon village Incorporated Area
- Verona town
- Vienna town
- Waterville village Incorporated Area
- Western town
- Westmoreland town
- Whitesboro village Incorporated Area
- Whitestown town
- Yorkville village Incorporated Area

County Resources:

Enter County Resources and Information Here

County Resources
Counties: US Map
The history of our nation was a prolonged struggle to define the relative roles and powers of our governments: federal, state, and local. And the names given the counties, our most locally based jurisdictions, reflects the "characteristic features of this country!"