Find the Right School

Find a College

Begin Now!

Online Colleges
Campus Colleges
Oklahoma Counties
Oklahoma County map
Click Image to Enlarge
Oklahoma Counties
There are seventy-seven counties in Oklahoma. Oklahoma is ranked 20th size and 17th in the number of counties, between Mississippi with 82 counties and Arkansas with 75 counties.

Oklahoma originally had seven counties when it was first organized as the Oklahoma Territory. These counties were designated numerically, first through seventh. New counties added after this were designated by letters of the alphabet. The first seven counties were later renamed. The Oklahoma Constitutional Convention named all of the counties that were formed when Oklahoma entered statehood in 1907. Only two counties have been formed since then

Osage County, Oklahoma

Osage County History, Geography, and Demographics

County Seat: Pawhuska
Year Organized: 1907
Square Miles: 2,251
Court House:

PO Box 87
County Courthouse
Pawhuska, OK 74056-0087

Etymology - Origin of County Name

the tribal name "Wazhazhe," as spelled by the French settlers of the Mississippi Valley.


County QuickFacts: Census Bureau Quick Facts

County History

Oklahoma's largest county by area, Osage County is located in the north-central part of the state and contains a total land and water area of 2,303.8 square miles. Created at 1907 statehood the county was named for and is home to the Osage tribe and is contiguous with the Osage Nation Reservation. It is surrounded by Washington County on the east, Tulsa County on the east and south, Pawnee County on the south, Noble and Kay counties on the west, and the state of Kansas on the north. Pawhuska is the county seat, and Avant, Barnsdall, Burbank, Fairfax, Foraker, Grainola, Hominy, Osage, Prue, Shidler, Webb City, and Wynona are other incorporated towns. U.S. Highway 60 runs east-west through the county, and state highways include 10, 11, 18, 20, 35, 97, 99, and 123.

Most of Osage County lies in the Osage Plains physiographic region and is characterized by open and rolling prairie. The extreme east-northeastern area of the county is in the Eastern Lowlands region. Eastern Osage County has the Osage Hills, an extension of the Flint Hills of Kansas. Gray Horse, Salt, and Drum creeks drain the county's western and southern sections. These streams flow south into the Arkansas River, which serves as part of the county's southern and western boundaries. Eastern Osage County is drained by the Caney River and Bird, Hominy, and Delaware creeks, which flow east to the Verdigris River. County reservoirs include Lakes Keystone and Kaw, which were impounded on the Arkansas River as well as Hulah, Birch, Bluestem, and Skiatook lakes....OSAGE COUNTY

Neighboring Counties:

  • Insert Counties Here

Cities and Towns:

- Avant town Incorporated Area
- Barnsdall city Incorporated Area
- Burbank town Incorporated Area
- Fairfax town Incorporated Area
- Foraker town Incorporated Area
- Grainola town Incorporated Area
- Hominy city Incorporated Area
- Osage town Incorporated Area
- Pawhuska (County Seat) city Incorporated Area
- Prue town Incorporated Area
- Shidler city Incorporated Area
- Skiatook town Incorporated Area
- Tulsa city Incorporated Area
- Webb City town Incorporated Area
- Wynona town Incorporated Area

County Resources:

Enter County Resources and Information Here

County Resources
Counties: US Map
The history of our nation was a prolonged struggle to define the relative roles and powers of our governments: federal, state, and local. And the names given the counties, our most locally based jurisdictions, reflects the "characteristic features of this country!"