Colleges Search

Have you begun your college search? Find a college that's right for you. Acess over 8500 Colleges, Universities, and Trade Schools in the US.

Begin Now!

Online Schools

Campus Schools

South Dakota Counties
South Dakota County map
Click Image to Enlarge

South Dakota Counties

There are 66 counties in the state of South Dakota
Search & Apply to New Jobs *

Todd County, South Dakota

Todd County Education, Geography, and History

County Seat: Winner
Year Organized: 1909
Square Miles: 1,388
Court House:

200 East Third Street
County Courthouse
Winner, SD 57580-1841

Etymology - Origin of County Name

Todd is named for John Blair Smith Todd, the first Congressional Delegate from Dakota Territory.


County QuickFacts: Census Bureau Quick Facts

County History

Todd County was created in 1909 and organized in December of 1981. A Home Rule Charter was signed January 1, 1983. The county was named for John Blair Smith Todd, who was the first delegate to Congress from Dakota Territory. The county contracts with Tripp County for the duties of Auditor, Treasurer and Register of Deeds.


According to the US Census Bureau, the county has a total area of 1,391 square miles (3,602 km2), of which, 1,388 square miles (3,595 km2) of it is land and 3 square miles (7 km2) of it (0.20%) is water.

Neighboring Counties:

  • Mellette County, South Dakota - north
  • Tripp County, South Dakota - east
  • Cherry County, Nebraska - south
  • Bennett County, South Dakota - west


South Dakota Colleges, Universities, & Schools
Compare More Colleges and Universities
Find the Right School

Find more schools to match to your needs.

County Resources
US Counties
Names given the counties, our most locally based jurisdictions, reflects the "characteristic features of this country!"
Hunting for a new job? Get advice or search over 1.6 million jobs on the largest job site
Colleges & Universities
Colleges & Universities: Search or Browse over 8500 Colleges, Universities, and Trade Schools in the US..

Find and Compare!

With access to over 8,500 schools to choose from!

Get Your Degree!

Find schools and get information on the program that’s right for you.

Powered by Campus Explorer

Search Jobs & Employment

Quick Job Search

Enter Keyword(s):

Enter a City:

Select a State:

Select a Category:

-- Advanced Job Search

-- Search by Company

Provides pricing transparency, scholarship information as well as numerous other key details on over 8,500 US colleges, universities and trade schools