Find the Right School

Find a College

Begin Now!

Online Colleges
Campus Colleges
Tennessee Counties
Tennessee County map
Click Image to Enlarge
Tennessee Counties
There are 95 counties in the State of Tennessee.

Hawkins County, Tennessee

Hawkins County History, Geography, and Demographics

County Seat: Rogersville
Year Organized: 1786
Square Miles: 487
Court House:

150 Washington Street
County Courthouse
Rogersville, TN 37857-3365

Etymology - Origin of County Name

Named in honor of Benjamin Hawkins (1754-1818), member of the North Carolina legislature and the Continental Congress, US senator, agent for the Creek, Cherokee, Chickasaw and Choctaw.


County QuickFacts: Census Bureau Quick Facts

History of Hawkins County

Created 1786 from Sullivan County; named in honor of Benjamin Hawkins (1754-1818), member of the North Carolina legislature and the Continental Congress, US senator, agent for the Creek, Cherokee, Chickasaw and Choctaw.

Hawkins County was formed in 1786 from Sullivan County (Acts of Tennessee 1786, Chapter 34).

There was a fire at the Hawkins County courthouse in 1863.

One of the oldest Tennessee counties, Hawkins County was first established as a separate North Carolina county on January 6, 1787, when the state legislature divided Sullivan County, North Carolina. The original county was quite large, extending from the North Fork of the Holston River southwestwardly to the "Big Suck" near present-day Chattanooga. Other counties, or parts of counties, later created from Hawkins include Hancock, Grainger, Jefferson, Knox, Roane, Meigs, and Hamilton. Prior to its creation by North Carolina, the county was Spencer County, State of Franklin.

The act creating Hawkins County empowered seven commissioners to select a central place for the county seat, where a courthouse, prison, and stocks would be built and to levy a tax for the support of local government. The first meeting of the commissioners took place at the home of Thomas Gibbons on Big Creek on June 4, 1787, at which time Joseph Rogers's land on Crockett's Creek was selected as the location for the county seat. During the summer of 1787 the courthouse, jail, and stocks were erected, and the little community took the name Hawkins Court House. The first elected county officials were John Hunt, sheriff; William Marshall, register; and Thomas Hutchins, clerk. Marshall and Nathaniel Henderson were elected the first representatives to the North Carolina House of Commons, and Thomas Amis was elected the first senator to represent the new county in the legislative assembly.

Find more from the Tennessee Encyclopedia of History and Culture: HAWKINS COUNTY


According to the U.S. Census Bureau, the county has a total area of 500 square miles (1,294 kmē), of which, 487 square miles (1,260 kmē) of it is land and 13 square miles (34 kmē) of it (2.60%) is water.

Neighboring Counties:

  • Lee County, Virginia (north)
  • Sullivan County (east)
  • Greene County (south)
  • Hamblen County and Grainger County (southwest)
  • Hancock County (west)
  • Scott County, Virginia (northeast)

Cities and Towns:

- Bulls Gap town Incorporated Area
- Church Hill city Incorporated Area
- Mount Carmel town Incorporated Area
- Rogersville (County Seat) town Incorporated Area
- Surgoinsville town Incorporated Area

County Resources:

Enter County Resources and Information Here

County Resources
Counties: US Map
The history of our nation was a prolonged struggle to define the relative roles and powers of our governments: federal, state, and local. And the names given the counties, our most locally based jurisdictions, reflects the "characteristic features of this country!"