Tennessee Counties
Tennessee County map
Click Image to Enlarge

Tennessee Counties

There are ninety-five counties in the State of Tennessee. The oldest county is Washington County, founded in 1777. The most recently formed county is Chester County (1879)

Henderson County, Tennessee

Henderson County Education, Geography, and History

Henderson County, Tennessee Courthouse

Henderson County is a county located in the state of Tennessee. Based on the 2010 census, the population was 27,769. Its county seat is Lexington. The county was founded in 1821 and named for James Henderson, a soldier in the War of 1812

Etymology - Origin of Henderson County Name

Named in honor of James Henderson (fl.1815), commander of Tennessee troops preceding the Battle of New Orleans, and staff officer to Andrew Jackson in the Creek and Natchez campaigns.


County QuickFacts: CensusBureau Quick Facts

History of Henderson County

Created 1821 from Indian lands; named in honor of James Henderson (fl.1815), commander of Tennessee troops preceding the Battle of New Orleans, and staff officer to Andrew Jackson in the Creek and Natchez campaigns.

Henderson County was formed in 1821 from Indian lands
(Public Acts of Tennessee 1821, Chapter 32).

There was a fire at the Henderson County courthouse in 1896.

Tennessee Encyclopedia of History and Culture
The Tennessee General Assembly created Henderson County on November 7, 1821, and named it in honor of Colonel James Henderson, who served under Andrew Jackson and commanded Tennessee troops at the battle of New Orleans. Several of the county's early settlers served under Henderson's command during the War of 1812 and during the Natchez and Creek Indian campaigns. The original area contained the present county, a large part of Chester County, and smaller portions of Decatur and Madison Counties. Major John Troxell Harmon surveyed the county seat of Lexington in 1822 and laid out the town facing northeast, making it crosswise to traditional orientation. At 720 feet, Lexington is also highest in elevation of all the West Tennessee county seats.

The Tennessee Highland Ridge (also known locally and historically as Feather Ridge and Purdy Range) divided the county into two distinct cultural and geographical sections. All water falling east of the ridge flows to the Tennessee River, while water west of the ridge flows to the Mississippi River. The Tennessee Highland Ridge enters Henderson County at the Chester County line near Laster, separates the Middlefork and Palestine communities, and follows a northerly pattern west of Lexington across Sand Ridge between Bargerton and Union Cross before entering Carroll County. Most of the plantation and slave-owning settlers of the county lived west of the ridge, where the ground was less hilly. The land east of the ridge becomes increasingly hilly toward the Tennessee River and was largely unsuitable for plantation farming. Find more from the Tennessee Encyclopedia of History and Culture: HENDERSON COUNTY

Geography: Land and Water

As reported by the Census Bureau, the county has a total area of 526 square miles (1,362 km2), of which, 520 square miles (1,347 km2) of it is land and 6 square miles (15 km2) of it (1.12%) is water.

Neighboring Counties

Bordering counties are as follows:

  • Carroll County (north)
  • Decatur County (east)
  • Hardin County (southeast)
  • Chester County (southwest)
  • Madison County (west)


Tennessee Colleges, Universities, & Schools
Compare More Colleges and Universities
Find the Right School

Find more schools to match to your needs.

County Resources
US Counties
Click Image to Enlarge