Career College Search

Online Schools

Campus Schools

Tennessee Counties
Tennessee County map
Click Image to Enlarge

Tennessee Counties

There are ninety-five counties in the State of Tennessee. The oldest county is Washington County, founded in 1777. The most recently formed county is Chester County (1879)

Lincoln County, Tennessee

Lincoln County Education, Geography, and History

Lincoln County, Tennessee Courthouse

Lincoln County is a county located in the state of Tennessee. Based on the 2010 census, the population was 33,361. Its county seat and largest city is Fayetteville. The county is named for Major General Benjamin Lincoln, an officer in the American Revolutionary War.

Etymology - Origin of Lincoln County Name

Named in honor of Benjamin Lincoln (1733-1810), American Revolutionary officer, US secretary of war, commander of forces that suppressed Shay's Rebellion in 1787 and lieutenant governor of Massachusetts.


County QuickFacts: CensusBureau Quick Facts

History of Lincoln County

Created 1809 from Bedford County; named in honor of Benjamin Lincoln (1733-1810), American Revolutionary officer, US secretary of war, commander of forces that suppressed Shay's Rebellion in 1787 and lieutenant governor of Massachusetts.

Lincoln County was formed in 1809 from Bedford County (Private Acts of Tennessee 1809, Chapter 48).

Tennessee Encyclopedia of History and Culture
Lincoln County is located in southern Middle Tennessee, with most of the county in the Central Basin and the remainder on the Highland Rim. The Elk River runs through the county from the northeast to the southwest, dividing the county into two nearly equal parts. The Cherokees and Chickasaws ceded the land that comprises Lincoln County in 1806. Settlers arrived almost immediately, although surveyors and prospective settlers came as early as 1784 to establish boundaries for Revolutionary War land warrants. Some of the first settlers included Drury Abbott; Ezekiel Norris; Joseph Alexander and Andrew Greer; William and Thomas Edmonson; Robert Farquharson; and James Bright. The county, which contains 520 square miles, was established by an act of the general assembly in 1809 and named for Revolutionary War hero General Benjamin Lincoln.

Commissioners John Whitaker Sr., Wright Williams, Eli Garrett, Littleton Duty, and Jesse Woodruff were appointed to purchase 100 acres near the center of the county to establish a county seat. Ezekiel Norris sold the land near the Elk River that became the town of Fayetteville, and the commissioners laid off town lots, which were sold in 1810. The first court was held in the home of Brice Garner, the first county clerk. In 1811 the first courthouse was constructed of logs. The present Colonial Revival-style courthouse was built in 1970 and is the fourth one in the county's history. Find more from the Tennessee Encyclopedia of History and Culture: LINCOLN COUNTY

Geography: Land and Water

As reported by the Census Bureau, the county has a total area of 571 square miles (1,478 km2), of which, 570 square miles (1,477 km2) of it is land and 0 square miles (1 km2) of it (0.07%) is water.

Neighboring Counties

Bordering counties are as follows:

  • Bedford County (north)
  • Moore County (northeast)
  • Franklin County (east)
  • Madison County, Alabama (south)
  • Limestone County, Alabama (southwest)
  • Giles County (west)
  • Marshall County (northwest)


Tennessee Colleges, Universities, & Schools
Compare More Colleges and Universities
Find the Right School

Find more schools to match to your needs.

County Resources
US Counties
Click Image to Enlarge
Colleges & Universities
Colleges & Universities: Search or Browse over 8500 Colleges, Universities, and Trade Schools in the US..
Provides pricing transparency, scholarship information as well as numerous other key details on over 8,500 US colleges, universities and trade schools

Get Your Degree!

Find schools and get information on the program that’s right for you.

Powered by Campus Explorer