Tennessee Counties
Tennessee County map
Click Image to Enlarge

Tennessee Counties

There are ninety-five counties in the State of Tennessee. The oldest county is Washington County, founded in 1777. The most recently formed county is Chester County (1879)

Sevier County, Tennessee

Sevier County Education, Geography, and History

Sevier County, Tennessee Courthouse

Sevier County is a county of the state of Tennessee. Based on the 2010 census, the population was 89,889. Its county seat and largest city is Sevierville.

Sevier County comprises the Sevierville, TN Micropolitan Statistical Area, which is included in the Knoxville-Morristown-Sevierville, TN Combined Statistical Area.

Etymology - Origin of Sevier County Name

Named in honor of John Sevier (1745-1815), governor of the State of Franklin, territorial militia officer, US congressman from North Carolina and Tennessee, state senator and first governor of Tennessee.


County QuickFacts: CensusBureau Quick Facts

History of Sevier County

Created 1794 from Jefferson County; named in honor of John Sevier (1745-1815), governor of the State of Franklin, territorial militia officer, US congressman from North Carolina and Tennessee, state senator and first governor of Tennessee.

Sevier County was formed in 1794 from Jefferson County. (Acts of Tennessee 1794 [1st Session], Chapter 11).

There was a fire at the Sevier County courthouse in 1856.

Tennessee Encyclopedia of History and Culture
Located in East Tennessee, Sevier County has the distinction of having three birthdays: in 1785 under the State of Franklin, in 1794 under the Southwest Territory, and in 1796 under the State of Tennessee. Sevierville, the county seat, and the county were named in honor of John Sevier. The land area of 592.3 square miles has a varied topography which consists of fertile lowlands along the French Broad and Little Pigeon Rivers, the hilly portion drained by the Forks of Little Pigeon River, and the majestic peaks of the Great Smoky Mountains, including Clingman's Dome, the highest mountain peak in Tennessee.

The two branches of the Great Indian War Path which crossed the county became the chief migratory route for the early settlers in the 1780s. The signing of the Dumplin Treaty at Major Hugh Henry's Station in 1785 opened the area south of the French Broad for settlement.

The first court of Sevier County, State of Franklin, was held at Samuel Newell's Station on Boyds Creek in March 1785. The first court of Sevier County, Southwest Territory, was held at the home of Isaac Thomas on November 8, 1794. Magistrates present were Samuel Newell, Joseph Willson, Joshua Gist, Peter Bryant, Joseph Vance, and Andrew Evans. Absent were Mordecai Lewis and Robert Pollock. On January 11, 1796, Spencer Clack, John Clack, Samuel Wear, Peter Bryant, and Thomas Buckingham were sent to help prepare a state constitution at the convention in Knoxville. John Clack was elected to the Senate and Spencer Clack and Samuel Wear to the House of Representatives. Find more from the Tennessee Encyclopedia of History and Culture: SEVIER COUNTY

Geography: Land and Water

Mountains over Sevier County at sunset from the Great Smoky Mountains National ParkAccording to the US Census Bureau, the county has a total area of 598 square miles (1,548 km2), of which 592 square miles (1,534 km2) is land and 5 square miles (14 km2) (0.91%) is water.

As one of the largest counties in Tennessee, Sevier County's terrain varies from one of the most rugged portions of the Appalachian Mountains to the river valley of the French Broad River and Douglas Lake. The maximum elevation differential in Sevier County is the greatest in Tennessee, ranging from a high of 6,643 feet (2,025 m) at Clingmans Dome (the highest point in the state) to a low of 850 feet (259 m) at the French Broad River.

Neighboring Counties

Bordering counties are as follows:

  • Jefferson County, Tennessee - north
  • Cocke County, Tennessee - east
  • Haywood County, North Carolina - southeast
  • Swain County, North Carolina - south
  • Blount County, Tennessee - west
  • Knox County, Tennessee - northwest


The Sevier County School System is composed of thirty-two public and private institutions ranging from Head Start programs through a number of secondary schools. One post-secondary institution is also located within the county. The one post-secondary institution in the county is a satellite campus of the Morristown-based Walters State Community College.

Tennessee Colleges, Universities, & Schools
Compare More Colleges and Universities
Find the Right School

Find more schools to match to your needs.

County Resources
US Counties
Click Image to Enlarge