Tennessee Counties
Tennessee County map
Click Image to Enlarge

Tennessee Counties

There are ninety-five counties in the State of Tennessee. The oldest county is Washington County, founded in 1777. The most recently formed county is Chester County (1879)

Wayne County, Tennessee

Wayne County Education, Geography, and History

Wayne County, Tennessee Courthouse

Wayne County is a county located in the state of Tennessee. Based on the 2010 census, the population was 17,021. Its county seat is Waynesboro. The county is named after General "Mad Anthony" Wayne.

Etymology - Origin of Wayne County Name

Named in honor of daring "Mad Anthony" Wayne (1745-1796), American statesman and officer in the Revolutionary War who later lead troops against hostile Indians.


County QuickFacts: CensusBureau Quick Facts

History of Wayne County

Created 1817 from Hickman County; named in honor of daring "Mad Anthony" Wayne (1745-1796), American statesman and officer in the Revolutionary War who later lead troops against hostile Indians.

Wayne County was formed in 1817 from Hickman County (Acts of Tennessee 1817, Chapter 174).

There was a fire at the Wayne County courthouse in 1973

Tennessee Encyclopedia of History and Culture
Wayne County is located on the extreme western side of the Highland Rim, with its northwest corner extending into the Tennessee River basin. It is made up of ridges and hollows and is on a plateau of about eight hundred feet in elevation in the southwest corner of the Middle Tennessee division. Heavily wooded, the county contains deposits of iron that were still being worked into the early twentieth century.

The general assembly created Wayne County in 1817, but the engrossing clerk failed to sign the act, and it had to be passed again when the legislature next met in 1819. The county was named to honor General "Mad" Anthony Wayne of the Revolutionary War. Created from parts of Hickman and Humphreys Counties, it encompasses 338,291 acres. The first settlers in Wayne County arrived from Middle Tennessee and North and South Carolina to claim military grants, occupants' claims, and warrants. Find more from the Tennessee Encyclopedia of History and Culture: WAYNE COUNTY

Geography: Land and Water

As reported by the Census Bureau, the county has a total area of 736 square miles (1,905 km2), of which, 734 square miles (1,901 km2) of it is land and 2 square miles (4 km2) of it (0.22%) is water.

Neighboring Counties

Bordering counties are as follows:

  • Perry County (north)
  • Lewis County (northeast)
  • Lawrence County (east)
  • Lauderdale County, Alabama (south)
  • Hardin County (west)
  • Decatur County (northwest)



Columbia State Community College in Clifton

Tennessee Colleges, Universities, & Schools
Compare More Colleges and Universities
Find the Right School

Find more schools to match to your needs.

County Resources
US Counties
Click Image to Enlarge