Career College Search

Online Schools

Campus Schools

Tennessee Counties
Tennessee County map
Click Image to Enlarge

Tennessee Counties

There are ninety-five counties in the State of Tennessee. The oldest county is Washington County, founded in 1777. The most recently formed county is Chester County (1879)

Weakley County, Tennessee

Weakley County Education, Geography, and History

Weakley County, Tennessee Courthouse

Weakley County is a county located in the northwest of the state of Tennessee. Based on the 2010 census, the population was 35,021. Its county seat is Dresden, and its largest city is Martin, the home of the University of Tennessee at Martin. The county was established by the Tennessee General Assembly on October 21, 1823, and is named for U. S. Congressman Robert Weakley (1764–1845).

Weakley County comprises the Martin, TN Micropolitan Statistical Area.

Etymology - Origin of Weakley County Name

Named in honor of Robert Weakley (1764-1845), Revolutionary War soldier, state legislator, US congressman, US commissioner to treat with Chickasaws, 1834 Tennessee Constitutional Convention delegate.


County QuickFacts: CensusBureau Quick Facts

History of Weakley County

Created 1823 from Indian lands; named in honor of Robert Weakley (1764-1845), Revolutionary War soldier, state legislator, US congressman, US commissioner to treat with Chickasaws, 1834 Tennessee Constitutional Convention delegate.

Weakley County was formed in 1823 from Indian lands (Acts of Tennessee 1823, Chapter 112).

There was a fire at the Weakley County courthouse in 1948.

Tennessee Encyclopedia of History and Culture
Weakley County is located on the Plateau Slope of West Tennessee. The north, middle, and south forks of the Obion River and its tributaries drain the land westward to the Mississippi River. It is bounded on the north by the state of Kentucky, on the east by Henry County, on the south by Carroll and Gibson counties, and on the west by Obion County. Weakley County covers 576 square miles, having lost some of its land to Gibson County in 1837 and to Obion County in 1870.

Weakley County was established October 23, 1823, and named for Robert Weakley II, Speaker of the Tennessee Senate. By early 1825 the organization of the county was completed, and the town of Dresden had been surveyed and platted by Mears Warner to contain a public square and ninety lots. In 1835 the general assembly divided the county into twelve voting districts to elect justices of the peace and constables. By 1843 two new districts had been added.

The first circuit court was held in a log house on the courtyard. It was replaced in 1827 by a brick courthouse. When that structure became too small, it was replaced by a two-story brick structure in 1852. This building was destroyed by fire in 1948 and replaced in 1950 with a four-story building, including basement, constructed of Alabama limestone, designed by the Nashville firm Marr and Holman. Find more from the Tennessee Encyclopedia of History and Culture: WEAKLEY COUNTY

Geography: Land and Water

As reported by the Census Bureau, the county has a total area of 582 square miles (1,507 km2), of which, 580 square miles (1,503 km2) of it is land and 2 square miles (4 km2) of it (0.28%) is water.

Neighboring Counties

Bordering counties are as follows:

  • Graves County, Kentucky (north)
  • Henry County (east)
  • Carroll County (southeast)
  • Gibson County (southwest)
  • Obion County (west)


Tennessee Colleges, Universities, & Schools
Compare More Colleges and Universities
Find the Right School

Find more schools to match to your needs.

County Resources
US Counties
Click Image to Enlarge
Colleges & Universities
Colleges & Universities: Search or Browse over 8500 Colleges, Universities, and Trade Schools in the US..
Provides pricing transparency, scholarship information as well as numerous other key details on over 8,500 US colleges, universities and trade schools

Get Your Degree!

Find schools and get information on the program that’s right for you.

Powered by Campus Explorer