Alabama Counties
Alabama County Map
Click Image to Enlarge

Alabama Counties

Alabama currently has sixty-seven counties. The oldest county, Washington, was created on June 4, 1800, when what is now Alabama was then part of the Mississippi Territory. The newest county is Houston, created on February 9, 1903.

Chambers County, Alabama History

Chambers County Education, Geography, and HistoryChambers County, Alabama Courthouse

Chambers County is a county of the state of Alabama. Based on the 2010 census, the population was 34,215. Chambers county was created on December 18, 1832, from former Creek Indian territory in the Creek Cession of 1832.  The county seat is Lafayette. Chambers county is named in honor of Henry H. Chambers, who served as a United States Senator from Alabama.

Chambers County is included in the Valley, AL Micropolitan Statistical Area and the Columbus-Auburn-Opelika, GA-AL Combined Statistical Area.

Etymology - Origin of Chambers County Name

The county is named for Henry Chambers, a US Senator from Alabama (1825-26).


County QuickFacts: CensusBureau Quick Facts

Chambers County History

Chambers County, Alabama

Chambers county was formed by an act of the Alabama General Assembly on December 18,1832 from Creek Nation territory. The county is located in the east-central portion of the state, and is bounded on the east by the Chattahoochee River. Chambers county is named for Henry Chambers, a US Senator from Alabama (1825-26). The location of the county seat was selected in 1833 and the town of Lafayette was built specifically for that purpose.

Geography: Land and Water

As reported by the Census Bureau, the county has a total area of 603 square miles (1,560 km2), of which 597 square miles (1,550 km2) is land and 6.6 square miles (17 km2) (1.1%) is water.

The Tallapoosa River runs along the northwestern corner of Chambers county, and numerous creeks, such as the Chikasonoxee, Allen, Chatahospee, and Osanippa, intersect the area. In addition, the Chattahoochee River runs along the eastern border of the county.

Neighboring Counties

Bordering counties are as follows:

  • North: Randolph County
  • Northeast: Troup County, Ga.
  • Southeast: Harris County, Ga.
  • South: Lee County
  • West: Tallapoosa County

In popular culture

Chambers County has been the back drop of several movies including Mississippi Burning.


Compare More Colleges and Universities
Find the Right School

Find more schools to match to your needs.

County Resources
US Counties
Click Image to Enlarge