Alabama Counties
Alabama County Map
Click Image to Enlarge

Alabama Counties

Alabama currently has sixty-seven counties. The oldest county, Washington, was created on June 4, 1800, when what is now Alabama was then part of the Mississippi Territory. The newest county is Houston, created on February 9, 1903.

Choctaw County, Alabama History

Choctaw County Education, Geography, and HistoryChoctaw County, Alabama Courthouse

Choctaw County is a county of the state of Alabama. Based on the 2010 census, the population was 13,859. Choctaw County was created on December  29, 1847 and was formed from Sumter County and Washington County. The county seat  is Butler. The county was established on December 29, 1847 and named for the Choctaw tribe of American Indians.

Etymology - Origin of Choctaw County Name

It was named for the Choctaw Indians, one of the four Indian groups that occupied what is now the State of Alabama.


County QuickFacts: CensusBureau Quick Facts

Choctaw County History

Choctaw County, Alabama

Choctaw county was formed by the Alabama legislature on December 29, 1847. The county was named for the Choctaw Indians, one of the four Indian groups that occupied what is now the State of Alabama. Choctaw county is located in the southwestern part of the state, and is bordered by Sumter, Marengo, Clarke, and Washington counties, and the State of Mississippi. It encompasses 909 square miles. Butler is the county seat. Other towns and communities include Bladon Springs and Choctaw.

Geography: Land and Water

As reported by the Census Bureau, the county has a total area of 921 square miles (2,390 km2), of which 914 square miles (2,370 km2) is land and 7.4 square miles (19 km2) (0.8%) is water.

The Tombigbee River flows along the eastern edge of the county, and several of its tributaries, including Kinterbush, Yantley, Tuckabum, Wahalak, Big Tallawampa, Surveyors, Okatuppa, and Turkey creeks, cross the area.

Neighboring Counties

Bordering counties are as follows:

  • North: Sumter County
  • Northeast: Marengo County
  • Southeast: Clarke County
  • South: Washington County
  • Southwest: Wayne County, Miss.
  • West: Clarke County, Miss.
  • Northwest: Lauderdale County, Miss.

National protected area

Choctaw National Wildlife Refuge


Compare More Colleges and Universities
Find the Right School

Find more schools to match to your needs.

County Resources
US Counties
Click Image to Enlarge