Alabama Counties
Alabama County Map
Click Image to Enlarge

Alabama Counties

Alabama currently has sixty-seven counties. The oldest county, Washington, was created on June 4, 1800, when what is now Alabama was then part of the Mississippi Territory. The newest county is Houston, created on February 9, 1903.

Coffee County, Alabama History

Coffee County Education, Geography, and History

CoffeeCounty, Alabama CourthouseCoffee County is a county of the state of Alabama. Based on the 2010 census, the population was 49,948. Coffee County was created on December 29, 1841, from what had been part of Dale County. The county seat is Elba. The county is named in honor of General John Coffee.

Coffee County comprises the Enterprise, AL Micropolitan Statistical Area, which is also included in the Dothan-Enterprise-Ozark, AL Combined Statistical Area. The Coffee County Courthouse is located in Elba.

Etymology - Origin of Coffee County Name

Coffee County was named for General John Coffee, a hero of the Creek War of 1813-14.


County QuickFacts: CensusBureau Quick Facts

Coffee County History

Coffee County, Alabama

Coffee county was formed by the Alabama legislature on December 29, 1841 from what had been part of Dale County. It was named for General John Coffee, a hero of the Creek War of 1813-14. Coffee County is located in the southeastern part of the state and is bordered on the north by Pike County, on the east by Dale County, on the south by Geneva County, and on the west by Covington and Crenshaw counties. It encompasses 680 square miles. The first county seat was at Wellborn. The county courthouse was destroyed by fire in 1851, and the following year the legislature authorized an election to be held to select another site. The town of Elba, then called Bentonville, was chosen. Other towns and communities include Enterprise, Kinston, and New Brockton.

Geography: Land and Water

As reported by the Census Bureau, the county has a total area of 680 square miles (1,800 km2), of which 679 square miles (1,760 km2) is land and 1.5 square miles (3.9 km2) (0.2%) is water.

The Pea River, the largest tributary of the Choctawhatchee River, runs from north to south in the center of Coffee county. Several smaller tributaries of the Pea River, including Double Bridges, Tight Eye, Beaverdam, Whitewater, Big, and Steep Head creeks, intersect the county.

Neighboring Counties

Bordering counties are as follows:

  • North: Pike County
  • East: Dale County
  • Southeast: Geneva County
  • Southwest: Covington County
  • Northwest: Crenshaw County

In popular culture

The county is referred to in Joe David Brown's 1971 novel Addie Pray, which inspired the movie Paper Moon.


Compare More Colleges and Universities
Find the Right School

Find more schools to match to your needs.

County Resources
US Counties
Click Image to Enlarge