Alabama Counties
Alabama County Map
Click Image to Enlarge

Alabama Counties

Alabama currently has sixty-seven counties. The oldest county, Washington, was created on June 4, 1800, when what is now Alabama was then part of the Mississippi Territory. The newest county is Houston, created on February 9, 1903.

Franklin County, Alabama History

Franklin County Education, Geography, and HistoryFranklin County, Alabama Courthouse

Franklin County is a county of the state of Alabama. Based on the 2010 census, the population was 31,704. Franklin County was created on Feburary 6, 1818 out of the Cherokee Cession of 1816. The county seat is Russellville. Franklin county is named in honor of Benjamin Franklin, famous statesman, scientist, and printer.

Etymology - Origin of Franklin County Name

Franklin county was named in honor of Benjamin Franklin.


County QuickFacts: CensusBureau Quick Facts

Franklin County History

Franklin County, Alabama

Franklin County formed by the Alabama Territorial legislature on February 6, 1818. It was named in honor of Benjamin Franklin. The county is situated in the northwestern part of the state, and is bordered by Colbert, Lawrence, Winston, and Marion counties in Alabama, and by Tishomingo and Itawamba counties, Mississippi. It currently encompasses 643 square miles. The county seat was originally located at Russellville, named after William Russell, an early settler and chief scout for Gen. Andrew Jackson during the Creek Indian War of 1813-14. In 1849, the county seat was transferred to Frankfort, where it remained until 1879 when it was moved to Belgreen. A courthouse fire in 1890 probably accounted for the relocation of the county seat to Russellville in 1891. Other towns and communities include Red Bay, Phil Campbell and Vina.

Colbert County was originally established on February 6, 1867 after it split from Franklin County over political issues after the American Civil War. It was abolished eight months later by an Alabama constitutional convention and then reestablished on February 24, 1870

Geography: Land and Water

As reported by the Census Bureau, the county has a total area of 647 square miles (1,680 km2), of which 634 square miles (1,640 km2) is land and 13 square miles (34 km2) (2.0%) is water.

Cedar Creek, a tributary of the Tennessee River, flows through the north-central area of the county, and Bear Creek, also a tributary of the Tennessee River, flows through the southwestern corner of the county. In the late 1960s, the Tennessee Valley Authority (TVA) built a reservoir on Bear Creek, creating Bear Creek Lake. In 1978, the TVA dammed Cedar Creek, creating Cedar Creek Lake. Mud Creek, a tributary of the Luxapilla Creek, runs through the eastern half of the county.

Neighboring Counties

Bordering counties are as follows:

  • North: Colbert County
  • East: Lawrence County
  • Southeast: Winston County
  • South: Marion County
  • Southwest: Itawamba County, Miss.
  • Northwest: Tishomingo County, Miss.

Musical history

Many musicians and songwriters are from Franklin County including Billy Sherrill, Tammy Wynette, Ricky Pierce, Eddie Martin, Kerry Gilbert, and many others.


There are two school systems in Franklin County; Russellville City Schools and Franklin County Schools.

Russellville City Schools include:

  • Russellville High School
  • Russellville Middle School
  • Russellville Elementary School (grades 3 - 5)
  • West Elementary School (grades Kindergarten - 2)

Franklin County Schools include:

  • Belgreen High School (grades K - 12)
  • East Franklin Junior High School (grades K - 9)
  • Phil Campbell High School (two separate buildings serving grades K - 12)
  • Red Bay High School (grades K - 12)
  • Tharptown Junior High School (grades K-12)
  • Vina High School (grades K - 12)

There is also the Franklin County Career-Technical Center, located next to Belgreen High School.

Compare More Colleges and Universities
Find the Right School

Find more schools to match to your needs.

County Resources
US Counties
Click Image to Enlarge