Alabama Counties
Alabama County Map
Click Image to Enlarge

Alabama Counties

Alabama currently has sixty-seven counties. The oldest county, Washington, was created on June 4, 1800, when what is now Alabama was then part of the Mississippi Territory. The newest county is Houston, created on February 9, 1903.

Houston County, Alabama History

Houston County Education, Geography, and HistoryHouston County, Alabama Courthouse

Houston County is a county located in the southeastern corner of the state of Alabama. Based on the 2010 census, the population was 101,547. Houston County was created on February 9, 1903 from parts of Dale County, Geneva County and Henry County. This county was named in honor of George S. Houston (1811-1879), 24th Governor of Alabama and US Congressman. The county seat is Dothan.

Houston County is part of the Dothan, Alabama metropolitan area.

Etymology - Origin of Houston County Name

 Houston was named in honor of Alabama Governor George Smith Houston.


County QuickFacts: CensusBureau Quick Facts

Houston County History

Houston County, Alabama

Houston county formed by the Alabama legislature on February 9, 1903 from parts of Dale, Geneva, and Henry counties. The county encompasses 577 square miles. Houston county was named in honor of Alabama Governor George Smith Houston. Houston County lies in the extreme southeastern corner of the state, in the Wiregrass region, and borders the State of Georgia on the east and Florida to the south. The county seat is Dothan, which was known as Poplar Head, prior to 1871. Other towns and communities include Cottonwood, Ashford, and Webb.

Geography: Land and Water

As reported by the Census Bureau, the county has a total area of 582 square miles (1,510 km2), of which 580 square miles (1,500 km2) is land and 1.8 square miles (4.7 km2) (0.3%) is water.

The Chattahoochee River and its lower tributaries flow throughout Houston County. Because the Chattahoochee River is one of the most dammed rivers in the southeast, its physical and biological systems have been severely altered during the last half century. The overall biological diversity of the river has declined, and several fish and mussel species are at risk.

Neighboring Counties

Bordering counties are as follows:

  • North: Henry County
  • Northeast: Early County, Ga.
  • Southeast: Seminole County, Ga.
  • South: Jackson County, Fla.
  • West: Geneva County
  • Northwest: Dale County


Compare More Colleges and Universities
Find the Right School

Find more schools to match to your needs.

County Resources
US Counties
Click Image to Enlarge