Alabama Counties
Alabama County Map
Click Image to Enlarge

Alabama Counties

Alabama currently has sixty-seven counties. The oldest county, Washington, was created on June 4, 1800, when what is now Alabama was then part of the Mississippi Territory. The newest county is Houston, created on February 9, 1903.

Walker County, Alabama History

Walker County Education, Geography, and HistoryWalker County, Alabama Courthouse

Walker County is a county in the state of Alabama.  Based on the 2010 census, the population was 67,023. Walker County was created on December 26, 1823, and was formed from Blount County, Jefferson County and Tuscaloosa County. The county seat is Jasper. The county is named is in honor of John Williams Walker, a member of the United States Senate.

Walker County is included in the Birmingham-Hoover, AL Metropolitan Statistical Area.

Etymology - Origin of Walker County Name

Walker county was named for US Senator John Williams Walker.


 County QuickFacts: CensusBureau Quick Facts

Walker County History

Walker County, Alabama

Walker county was formed by the Alabama legislature on  December 26, 1823 and was named for US Senator John Williams Walker. The county is located in the northwestern part of the state, and is bordered by Winston, Cullman, Blount, Jefferson, Tuscaloosa, Fayette, and Marion counties. The encompasses 803 square miles. Walker County is exceeded only by Jefferson County in the production of coal. The county is drained by the Black Warrior River and Mulberry and Sipsey Forks. The county seat is Jasper, named for William Jasper, a hero of the American Revolution. Other towns and communities include Carbon Hill, Corona, and Cordova. Fires at the courthouse occurred in 1865, 1877, 1886, and 1932.

Geography: Land and Water

As reported by the Census Bureau, the county has a total area of 805 square miles (2,080 km2), of which 791 square miles (2,050 km2) is land and 14 square miles (36 km2) (1.7%) is water.

Walker County is drained by the Black Warrior River Basin and the Mulberry and Sipsey Forks. The principal forks of the Black Warrior River- the Sipsey, Mulberry, and Locust- converge at the Jefferson-Walker county line. The riverbed overlies vast deposits of coal from the Warrior Coal Field, the southernmost large-scale coal-producing area in North America. Pine and oak forests cover much of Walker County.

Neighboring Counties

Bordering counties are as follows:

  • North: Winston County
  • Northeast: Cullman County; Blount County
  • Southeast: Jefferson County
  • Southwest: Tuscaloosa County
  • West: Fayette County
  • Northwest: Marion County

National Register of Historic Places

Walker County has sites listed on the National Register of Historic Places. They include the Bankhead House, Boshell's Mill, the First United Methodist Church of Jasper, the Gilchrist House, the Jasper Downtown Historic District, the Stephenson House, and Walker County Hospital

Places of interest

Walker County is home to the William B. Bankhead National Forest and Lewis Smith Lake, in addition to the Alabama Mining Museum.


Compare More Colleges and Universities
Find the Right School

Find more schools to match to your needs.

County Resources
US Counties
Click Image to Enlarge