Illinois Counties
Illinois County map
Click Image to Enlarge

Illinois Counties

There are one hundred and two counties in Illinois. St. Clair County was the first county established in what is today Illinois. Most counties in Illinois were named after early American leaders, especially of the American Revolutionary War, as well as soldiers from the Battle of Tippecanoe and the War of 1812.

Boone County, Illinois

Boone County Education, Geography, and HistoryBoone County, Illinois Courthouse

Boone County is a county located in the state of Illinois. Based on the 2010 census, the population was 54,165. Boone County was created on March 4, 1837.     The county seat is Belvidere. The county is named for Daniel Boone (1734-1820), trailblazer of the Wilderness Road in Kentucky.

Boone County is included in the Rockford, IL Metropolitan Statistical Area.

Etymology - Origin of Boone County Name

The county is named after Daniel Boone, pioneer hunter, explorer and Indian fighter.


County QuickFacts: CensusBureau Quick Facts

Boone County History

Boone County was created on March 4, 1837 (Laws, 1837, p. 96) and was formed from Winnebago County. Present area, or parts of it, formerly included in: Winnebago (1836-1837), LaSalle (1831-1836), Putnam (1825-1831), Fulton (1823-1825), Pike (1821-1823), Clark (1819-1821), Crawford (1816-1819), Edwards (1815-1816), Madison (1812-1815) and St. Clair (1801-1812).

The County was named for Daniel Boone, a pioneer hunter, Indian fighter and pathfinder of the early days. The County Seat is Belvidere (1837-Present).

Geography: Land and Water

As reported by the Census Bureau, the county has a total area of 282 square miles (730 km2), of which 281 square miles (728 km2) is land and 1 square mile (2 km2) (0.24%) is water.

Boone county is located in north Illinois.

Neighboring Counties

Bordering counties are as follows:

  • Northeast: Walworth County, Wis.
  • East: McHenry County
  • South: DeKalb County
  • Southwest: Ogle County
  • West: Winnebago County
  • Northwest: Rock County, Wis.


  • Belvidere Community Unit School District 100
  • Harvard Community Unit School District 50
  • Hiawatha Community Unit School District 426
  • North Boone Community Unit School District 200
  • Rockford School District 205

Compare More Colleges and Universities
Find the Right School

Find more schools to match to your needs.

County Resources
US Counties
Click Image to Enlarge