Illinois Counties
Illinois County map
Click Image to Enlarge

Illinois Counties

There are one hundred and two counties in Illinois. St. Clair County was the first county established in what is today Illinois. Most counties in Illinois were named after early American leaders, especially of the American Revolutionary War, as well as soldiers from the Battle of Tippecanoe and the War of 1812.

Brown County, Illinois

Brown County Education, Geography, and HistoryBrown County, Illinois Courthouse

Brown County is a county located in the state of Illinois. Based on the 2010 census, the population was 6,937. Brown County was created on February 1, 1839. The county seat is Mount Sterling.
The county is named for Jacob Brown (1775-1828), a successful American Revolution army officer responsible for Great Lakes defenses.

Etymology - Origin of Brown County Name

The county is named after Jacob Brown (1775-1828) was a Brigadier General of NY volunteers during the early years of the War of 1812. By 1815, he was Commander-in-chief of the Army. He received a gold medal for his action at Chippewa, Erie, and Niagra.


County QuickFacts: CensusBureau Quick Facts

Brown County History

Brown County was created on February 1, 1839 (Laws, 1839, p. 52) and was formed from Schuyler County. Present area, or parts of it, formerly included in: Schuyler County (1825-1839), Pike County (1821-1825), Madison County (1812-1821) and St. Clair County (1795-1812). The County was named for Jacob Brown, Major General during the War of 1812, who won distinction at Sackett's Harbor, Chippewa and Niagara. The County Seat is Mount Sterling (1839-Present).

Geography: Land and Water

As reported by the Census Bureau, the county has a total area of 307 square miles (796 km2), of which 306 square miles (792 km2) is land and 2 square miles (4 km2) (0.52%) is water.  

Brown county is located in west Illinois. Part of Siloam Springs State Park is located in this county. The Illinois River flows along part of the county's eastern border.

Neighboring Counties

Bordering counties are as follows:

  • Northeast: Schuyler County
  • East: Cass County
  • Southeast: Morgan County
  • Southwest: Pike County
  • West: Adams County


  • Brown County Community Unit School District 1
  • Meredosia-Chambersburg Community Unit School District 11
  • Southeastern Community Unit School District 337

Compare More Colleges and Universities
Find the Right School

Find more schools to match to your needs.

County Resources
US Counties
Click Image to Enlarge