Illinois Counties
Illinois County map
Click Image to Enlarge

Illinois Counties

There are one hundred and two counties in Illinois. St. Clair County was the first county established in what is today Illinois. Most counties in Illinois were named after early American leaders, especially of the American Revolutionary War, as well as soldiers from the Battle of Tippecanoe and the War of 1812.

Clinton County, Illinois

Clinton County Education, Geography, and HistoryClinton County, Illinois Courthouse

Clinton County is a county located in the state of Illinois. Based on the 2010 census, the population was 37,762. Clinton County was created on December 27, 1824. The county seat is Carlyle. This county is named for DeWitt Clinton (1769-1828), Governor of New York, responsible for the construction of the Erie Canal.

In 1960, the US Census Bureau placed the mean center of US population in Clinton County.

Clinton County is part of the St. Louis, MO-IL Metropolitan Statistical Area.

Etymology - Origin of Clinton County Name

The county is named for DeWitt Clinton, mayor of the city and Governor of the State of New York; promoter of the Erie Canal.


County QuickFacts: CensusBureau Quick Facts

Clinton County History

Clinton County was created on December 27, 1824 (Laws, 1825, p. 27) and was formed from Bond and Washington Counties. Present area, or parts of it, formerly included in: Washington County (1818-1824), Randolph County (1803-1813) and St. Clair County (1790-1818). The County was named for DeWitt Clinton, a distinguished lawyer, financier and statesman, Mayor of the city and Governor of the State of New York, United States Senator and chief promoter of the Erie Canal. The County Seat is Carlyle (1825-Present).

CLINTON COUNTY, organized in 1824, from portions of Washington, Bond and Fayette Counties, and named in honor of De Witt Clinton. It is situated directly east of St. Louis, has an area of 494 square miles, and a population (1900) of 19,824. It is drained by the Kaskaskia River and by Shoal, Crooked, Sugar and Beaver Creeks. Its geological formation is similar to that of other counties in the same section. Thick layers of limestone lie near the surface, with coal seams underlying the same at varying depths. The soil is varied, being at some points black and loamy and at others (under timber) decidedly clayey. The timber has been mainly cut for fuel because of the inherent difficulties attending coal-mining. Two railroads cross the county from east to west, but its trade is not important. Agriculture is the chief occupation, corn, wheat and oats being the staple products.

Geography: Land and Water

As reported by the Census Bureau, the county has a total area of 503 square miles (1,304 km2), of which 474 square miles (1,228 km2) is land and 29 square miles (76 km2) (5.81%) is water.

Clinton county is located in south Illinois. Eldon Hazlet State Recreation Area and South Shore State Park are in Clinton County. The county has a southern border of the Kaskaskia River.

Neighboring Counties

Bordering counties are as follows:

  • North: Bond County
  • Northeast: Fayette County
  • East: Marion County
  • South: Washington County
  • Southwest: St. Clair County
  • Northwest: Madison County


Carlyle Community Unit School District 1
Patoka Community Unit School District 100
Sandoval Community Unit School District 501
Wesclin Community Unit School District 3
Central Community High School, Breese
Mater Dei Catholic High School, Breese

Compare More Colleges and Universities
Find the Right School

Find more schools to match to your needs.

County Resources
US Counties
Click Image to Enlarge