Illinois Counties
Illinois County map
Click Image to Enlarge

Illinois Counties

There are one hundred and two counties in Illinois. St. Clair County was the first county established in what is today Illinois. Most counties in Illinois were named after early American leaders, especially of the American Revolutionary War, as well as soldiers from the Battle of Tippecanoe and the War of 1812.

Effingham County, Illinois

Effingham County Education, Geography, and HistoryEffingham County, Illinois Courthouse

Effingham County is a county located in the state of Illinois. Based on the 2010 census, the population was 34,242. Effingham County was created on February 15, 1831. The county seat is Effingham. The county is named for Lord Edward Effingham, military officer who resigned from the British Army to avoid fighting the American colonies.

Effingham County comprises the Effingham, IL Micropolitan Statistical Area.

Etymology - Origin of Effingham County Name

The county is named for Lord Edward Effingham, who resigned his post in the British Army rather than fight the colonies in 1775.


County QuickFacts: CensusBureau Quick Facts

Effingham County History

Effingham County was created on February 15, 1831 (Laws, 1831, p. 51) and was formed from Crawford and Fayette Counties. Although formally established by law in 1831, an act to organize Effingham County was not approved by the legislature until December 20, 1832. This act provided for the election of the first county officials in January, 1833. Present area, or parts of it, formerly included in: Crawford County (1816-1831), Fayette County (1821-1831), Clark County (1819-1821), Edwards County (1815-1816), Madison County (1812-1815), St. Clair County (1801-1812) and Knox, Northwest Territory (1790-1801).

The County was named for Lord Effingham, who resigned his commission as general in the British army in 1775, refusing to serve in the war against the colonies. The County Seat is Effingham . Prior County Seats was Ewington (1833-1860) and Effingham (1860-Present).

Geography: Land and Water

As reported by the Census Bureau, the county has a total area of 480 square miles (1,243 km2) of which 479 square miles (1,240 km2) is land and 1 square miles (3 km2) (0.25%) is water.

Effingham county is located in south Illinois.

Neighboring Counties

Bordering counties are as follows:

  • Northeast: Cumberland County
  • East: Jasper County
  • Southeast: Clay County
  • West: Fayette County
  • Northwest: Shelby County


Compare More Colleges and Universities
Find the Right School

Find more schools to match to your needs.

County Resources
US Counties
Click Image to Enlarge