Illinois Counties
Illinois County map
Click Image to Enlarge

Illinois Counties

There are one hundred and two counties in Illinois. St. Clair County was the first county established in what is today Illinois. Most counties in Illinois were named after early American leaders, especially of the American Revolutionary War, as well as soldiers from the Battle of Tippecanoe and the War of 1812.

Fulton County, Illinois

Fulton County Education, Geography, and HistoryFulton County, Illinois Courthouse

Fulton County is a county located in the state of Illinois. According to the 2010 census, it had a population of 37,069. Fulton County was created on January 28, 1823. The county seat is Lewistown, and the largest city is Canton. The county is named for Robert Fulton (1765-1815), inventor of the steamboat.

Fulton County comprises the Canton, IL Micropolitan Statistical Area, which is included in the Peoria-Canton, IL Combined Statistical Area. Fulton County is part of Forgottonia.

Etymology - Origin of Fulton County Name

The county is named for Robert Fulton, first successful builder of steamboats on American waters.


County QuickFacts: CensusBureau Quick Facts

Fulton County History

Fulton County was created on January 28, 1823 (Laws, 1823, p. 88) and was formed from Pike County. Present area, or parts of it, formerly included in: Madison County (1812-1821), Pike County (1821-1823) and St. Clair County (1795-1812).

The County was named for Robert Fulton, the first successful builder of steamboats on American waters. The County Seat is Lewistown (1823-Present). Originally Fulton Courthouse; changed to Lewistown on March 14, 1831.

Geography: Land and Water

As reported by the Census Bureau, the county has a total area of 883 square miles (2,286 km2), of which, 866 square miles (2,242 km2) of it is land and 17 square miles (44 km2) of it (1.92%) is water.

Fulton county is located close to the center of Illinois. The largest city in the county is Canton and the smallest is Marbletown which contains 1 house. (US Census Bureau). Fulton County is the site of Dickson Mounds Museum, a state museum of Native American daily life in the Illinois River valley. The Emiquon National Wildlife Refuge is located in this county. Anderson Lake State Fish & Wildlife Area is located in this county.

Neighboring Counties

Bordering counties are as follows:

  • North: Knox County
  • Northeast: Peoria County
  • East: Tazewell County
  • Southeast: Mason County
  • Southwest: Schuyler County
  • West: McDonough County
  • Northwest: Warren County


Compare More Colleges and Universities
Find the Right School

Find more schools to match to your needs.

County Resources
US Counties
Click Image to Enlarge