Illinois Counties
Illinois County map
Click Image to Enlarge

Illinois Counties

There are one hundred and two counties in Illinois. St. Clair County was the first county established in what is today Illinois. Most counties in Illinois were named after early American leaders, especially of the American Revolutionary War, as well as soldiers from the Battle of Tippecanoe and the War of 1812.

Greene County, Illinois

Greene County Education, Geography, and HistoryGreene County, Illinois Courthouse

Greene County is a county located in the state of Illinois. According to the 2010 census, it has a population of 13,886. Greene County was created on January 20, 1821. The county seat is Carrollton. The county is named for Nathanael Greene (1742-1786), Major General in the Continental Army.

Etymology - Origin of Greene County Name

Greene County was named for General Nathaniel Greene who was born in 1742 and died in 1786. He was a Major General in the American Revolution and became famous for his service in the southern region of the 13 colonies.


County QuickFacts: CensusBureau Quick Facts

Greene County History

Greene County was created on January 20, 1821 (Laws, 1821, p. 26) and was formed from Madison County. Present area, or parts of it, formerly included in: Madison County (1812-1821) and St. Clair County (1790-1812).

The County was named for Nathaniel Greene, a Major General in the Revolution, who distinguished himself as commander in the Southern Colonies. The County Seat is Carrollton (1821-Present).

The county has a notable archaeological area known as the Koster Site, at which evidence of more than 7,000 years of human habitation has been excavated. Exhibits of artifacts from the site are displayed at the Center for American Archeology in Kampsville, Illinois.

Geography: Land and Water

As reported by the Census Bureau, the county has a total area of 546 square miles (1,415 km2), of which, 543 square miles (1,407 km2) of it is land and 3 square miles (8 km2) of it (0.59%) is water.

Greene county is located in southwest Illinois. Part of the Two Rivers National Wildlife Refuge is located in this county.

Neighboring Counties

Bordering counties are as follows:

  • North: Scott County
  • Northeast: Morgan County
  • Southeast: Macoupin County
  • South: Jersey County
  • Southwest: Calhoun County
  • Northwest: Pike County


Compare More Colleges and Universities
Find the Right School

Find more schools to match to your needs.

County Resources
US Counties
Click Image to Enlarge