Illinois Counties
Illinois County map
Click Image to Enlarge

Illinois Counties

There are one hundred and two counties in Illinois. St. Clair County was the first county established in what is today Illinois. Most counties in Illinois were named after early American leaders, especially of the American Revolutionary War, as well as soldiers from the Battle of Tippecanoe and the War of 1812.

Hamilton County, Illinois

Hamilton County Education, Geography, and HistoryHamilton County, Illinois Courthouse

Hamilton County is a county located in the state of Illinois. According to the 2010 census, it has a population of 8,457. Hamilton County was created on February 8, 1821. The county seat is McLeansboro. The county is named for Alexander Hamilton (1755-1804), first United States Secretary of the Treasury.

Etymology - Origin of Hamilton County Name

The county is named for Alexander Hamilton, revolutionary soldier and first Secretary of the Treasury (1789-95).


County QuickFacts: CensusBureau Quick Facts

Hamilton County History

Hamilton County was created on February 8, 1821 (Laws, 1821, p. 113) and was formed from White County. Present area, or parts of it, formerly included in: White County (1815-1821), Gallatin County (1812-1815), Randolph County (1801-1812), St. Clair County (1795-1801) and Knox, Northwest Territory (1790-1795).

The County was named for Alexander Hamilton, a soldier, statesman, author and financier, aid on the staff of Washington during the Revolution, a member of the Continental Congress, first Secretary of Treasury (1789-1795), and Commander-in-Chief of the United States Army in 1799. The County Seat is McLeansboro (1821-Present).

Geography: Land and Water

As reported by the Census Bureau, the county has a total area of 436 square miles (1,129 km2), of which, 435 square miles (1,127 km2) of it is land and 1 square miles (2 km2) of it (0.15%) is water.

Hamilton county is located in south Illinois. Hamilton County State Fish and Wildlife Area is located in this county.

Neighboring Counties

Bordering counties are as follows:

  • Northeast: Wayne County
  • East: White County
  • Southeast: Gallatin County
  • South: Saline County
  • Southwest: Franklin County
  • Northwest: Jefferson County


Compare More Colleges and Universities
Find the Right School

Find more schools to match to your needs.

County Resources
US Counties
Click Image to Enlarge