Illinois Counties
Illinois County map
Click Image to Enlarge

Illinois Counties

There are one hundred and two counties in Illinois. St. Clair County was the first county established in what is today Illinois. Most counties in Illinois were named after early American leaders, especially of the American Revolutionary War, as well as soldiers from the Battle of Tippecanoe and the War of 1812.

Iroquois County, Illinois

Iroquois County Education, Geography, and HistoryIroquois County, Illinois Courthouse

Iroquois County is a county located in the northeast part of the state of Illinois. According to the 2010 census, it has a population of 29,718. Iroquois County was created on February 26, 1833. The county seat is Watseka. It is the only county in the United States to be named Iroquois, after the American Indian people.

Etymology - Origin of Iroquois County Name

This county is the only county in the United States to be named Iroquois, named for the American Indian Tribe (a confederacy of six tribes - the Mohawk, Oneida, Seneca, Onondaga, Cayuga and Tuscarora.)


County QuickFacts: CensusBureau Quick Facts

Iroquois County History

Iroquois County was created on February 26, 1833 (Laws, 1833, p. 19) and was formed from unorganized land (Vermilion County). Present area, or parts of it, formerly included in: Vermilion County (1826-1833), Edgar County (1823-1826), Clark County (1819-1823), Crawford County (1816-1819), Edwards County (1815-1816), Madison County (1812-1815), St. Clair County (1801-1812) and Knox, Northwest Territory(1795-1801).

The County was named for the former confederacy of six Native North American peoples, the Mohawk, Oneida, Seneca, Onondaga, Cayuga, and Tuscarora who originally settled along the Hudson River Valley. The name of the tribe was given originally to a river stretching 120 miles between Jasper County, Indiana and the Kankakee River in Illinois and was later transferred to the county. The County Seat is Watseka . Prior County Seats was Montgomery (1837-1839), Middleport (1839-1865) and Watseka (1865-Present).

Geography: Land and Water

As reported by the Census Bureau, the county has a total area of 1,118 square miles (2,896 km2), of which, 1,116 square miles (2,892 km2) of it is land and 2 square miles (4 km2) of it (0.14%) is water.

Iroquois county is located in northeast Illinois. The county is located along the border with Indiana. The Iroquois River enters the county from Indiana and flows westward along the south side of the village of Iroquois to the north and joins the larger Kankakee River. Kankakee River then flows into the Illinois River further to the northwest. Iroquois County State Wildlife Area is located in this county.

Neighboring Counties

Bordering counties are as follows:

  • North: Kankakee County
  • Northeast: Newton County, Ind.
  • Southeast: Benton County, Ind.
  • South: Vermilion County
  • Southwest: Ford County


Compare More Colleges and Universities
Find the Right School

Find more schools to match to your needs.

County Resources
US Counties
Click Image to Enlarge