Illinois Counties
Illinois County map
Click Image to Enlarge

Illinois Counties

There are one hundred and two counties in Illinois. St. Clair County was the first county established in what is today Illinois. Most counties in Illinois were named after early American leaders, especially of the American Revolutionary War, as well as soldiers from the Battle of Tippecanoe and the War of 1812.

Kane County, Illinois

Kane County Education, Geography, and HistoryKane County, Illinois Courthouse

Kane County is a county located in the state of Illinois. According to the 2010 census, it has a population of 515,269, making it the fifth-most populous county in Illinois. Kane County was created on January 16, 1836. The county seat is Geneva. The county is named for Elias Kane (1794-1835), United States Senator from Illinois.

Kane County is one of the collar counties of the Chicago-Naperville-Elgin, IL-IN-WI Metropolitan Statistical Area.

Etymology - Origin of Kane County Name

The county is named for Senator Elias K. Kane, first Secretary of State of Illinois.


County QuickFacts: CensusBureau Quick Facts

Kane County History

Kane County was created on January 16, 1836 (Laws, 1836, p. 273) and was formed from unorganized land (La Salle County ) and Cook County. Present area, or parts of it, formerly included in: LaSalle County (1835-1836), Putnam County (1825-1835), Fulton County (1823-1825), Pike County (1821-1823), Clark County (1819-1821), Crawford County (1816-1819), Edwards County (1815-1816), Madison County (1812-1815), St. Clair County (1801-1812) and Knox, Northwest Territory (1790-1801).

The County was named for Elias Kent Kane, a pioneer lawyer, Territorial judge, prominent member of the Constitutional Convention of 1818, first Secretary of State of Illinois, and later United States Senator. The County Seat is Geneva (1836-Present).

Geography: Land and Water

As reported by the Census Bureau, the county has a total area of 524 square miles (1,357 km2), of which, 520 square miles (1,348 km2) of it is land and 4 square miles (9 km2) of it (0.69%) is water.

Kane county is located in north Illinois. The largest cities are situated along the Fox River. Part of James "Pate" Philip State Park is located in this county.

Neighboring Counties

Bordering counties are as follows:

  • North: McHenry County
  • East: Cook County
  • Southeast: DuPage County; Will County
  • South: Kendall County
  • West: DeKalb County


  • Aurora University
  • Elgin Community College
  • Judson University
  • Waubonsee Community College

Compare More Colleges and Universities
Find the Right School

Find more schools to match to your needs.

County Resources
US Counties
Click Image to Enlarge