Illinois Counties
Illinois County map
Click Image to Enlarge

Illinois Counties

There are one hundred and two counties in Illinois. St. Clair County was the first county established in what is today Illinois. Most counties in Illinois were named after early American leaders, especially of the American Revolutionary War, as well as soldiers from the Battle of Tippecanoe and the War of 1812.

Kankakee County, Illinois

Kankakee County Education, Geography, and HistoryKankakee County, Illinois Courthouse

Kankakee County is a county located in the state of Illinois. According to the 2010 census, it has a population of 113,449. Kankakee County was created on February 11, 1853. The county seat is Kankakee. The county is named The County was named for an Indian name given to the Kankakee River.

Kankakee County comprises the Kankakee, IL Metropolitan Statistical Area, which is included in the Chicago-Naperville, IL-IN-WI Combined Statistical Area.

Etymology - Origin of Kankakee County Name

The county is named for an Indian name given to the Kankakee River.


County QuickFacts: CensusBureau Quick Facts

Kankakee County History

Kankakee County was created on February 11, 1853 (Laws, 1853, p. 159) and was formed from Ford, Iroquois and Will Counties. Present area, or parts of it, formerly included in: Will County (1836-1853), Iroquois County (1833-1853), Vermilion County (1826-1835), Edgar County (1823-1825), Fulton County (1823-1825), Clark County (1819-1823), Crawford County (1816-1819), Edwards County (1815-1816), Madison County (1812-1815), St. Clair County (1801-1812) and Knox, Northwest Territory (1790-1801).

The County was named for an Indian name given to a river rising in northern Indiana and flowing 225 miles southwest to join the Des Plaines River and form the Illinois River in northeast Illinois. The name of the river was transferred to the county. The County Seat is Kankakee (Name changed from Kankakee Depot in 1855.) .

Geography: Land and Water

As reported by the Census Bureau, the county has a total area of 681 square miles (1,765 km2), of which, 677 square miles (1,753 km2) of it is land and 5 square miles (12 km2) of it (0.69%) is water.

Kankakee county is located in northeast Illinois. Part of      Kankakee River State Park is located in this county.

Neighboring Counties

Bordering counties are as follows:

  • Northeast: Lake County, Ind.
  • Southeast: Newton County, Ind.
  • South: Iroquois County
  • Southwest: Ford County; Livingston County
  • Northwest: Grundy County; Will County


Compare More Colleges and Universities
Find the Right School

Find more schools to match to your needs.

County Resources
US Counties
Click Image to Enlarge