Illinois Counties
Illinois County map
Click Image to Enlarge

Illinois Counties

There are one hundred and two counties in Illinois. St. Clair County was the first county established in what is today Illinois. Most counties in Illinois were named after early American leaders, especially of the American Revolutionary War, as well as soldiers from the Battle of Tippecanoe and the War of 1812.

Knox County, Illinois

Knox County Education, Geography, and HistoryKnox County, Illinois Courthouse

Knox County is a county located in the state of Illinois. According to the 2010 census, it had a population of 52,919. Knox County was created on January 13, 1825.The county seat is Galesburg. The county is named for General Henry Knox (1750-1806), American Revolutionary War general and first United States Secretary of War.

Knox County comprises the Galesburg, IL Micropolitan Statistical Area.

Etymology - Origin of Knox County Name

General Henry Knox, revolutionary hero and President George Washington's Secretary of War.


County QuickFacts: CensusBureau Quick Facts

Knox County History

Knox County was created on January 13, 1825 (Laws, 1825, p. 94) and was formed from unorganized land, Fulton and Henry Counties. County organization was completed on June 10, 1830. Present area, or parts of it, formerly included in: Fulton County (1823-1825), Pike County (1821-1823), Madison County (1812-1821) and St. Clair County (1801-1812).

The County was named for Henry Knox, a soldier of the Revolution who commanded the storming party at Stony Point, later a Major General and Washington's Secretary of War. The County Seat is Galesburg . Prior County Seats was Home of John B. Gum in Henderson (1830-1831), Henderson- New location, name changed to Knoxville (1831-1873) and Galesburg (1873-Present).

Geography: Land and Water

As reported by the Census Bureau, the county has a total area of 720 square miles (1,864 km2), of which, 716 square miles (1,855 km2) of it is land and 3 square miles (9 km2) of it (0.48%) is water.

Knox county is located in northwest Illinois. Snakeden Hollow State Fish and Wildlife Area is located in this county.

Neighboring Counties

Bordering counties are as follows:

  • North: Henry County
  • Northeast: Stark County
  • Southeast: Peoria County
  • South: Fulton County
  • Southwest: Warren County
  • Northwest: Mercer County


Compare More Colleges and Universities
Find the Right School

Find more schools to match to your needs.

County Resources
US Counties
Click Image to Enlarge