Illinois Counties
Illinois County map
Click Image to Enlarge

Illinois Counties

There are one hundred and two counties in Illinois. St. Clair County was the first county established in what is today Illinois. Most counties in Illinois were named after early American leaders, especially of the American Revolutionary War, as well as soldiers from the Battle of Tippecanoe and the War of 1812.

Logan County, Illinois

Logan County Education, Geography, and HistoryLogan County, Illinois Courthouse

Logan County is a county located in the state of Illinois. According to the 2010 census, it had a population of 30,305.  Logan County was created on February 15, 1839. The county seat is Lincoln.  The county is named for Dr. John Logan, a country doctor and early settler, and the father of General John A. Logan.

Logan County comprises the Lincoln, IL Micropolitan Statistical Area, which is included in the Springfield-Jacksonville-Lincoln, IL Combined Statistical Area.

Etymology - Origin of Logan County Name

The county is named for Dr. John Logan, pioneer physician and father of General John A. Logan.


County QuickFacts: CensusBureau Quick Facts

Logan County History

Logan County was created on February 15, 1839 (Laws, 1839, p. 104) and was formed from McLean, Sangamon and Tazewell Counties. Present area, or parts of it, formerly included in: Tazewell County (1827-1839), Sangamon County (1821-1839), Bond County (1817-1821), Madison County (1812-1817), St. Clair County (1790-1812) and Knox, Northwest Territory (1790-1801).

The County was named for Dr. John Logan, a pioneer physician, father of General John A. Logan. The County Seat is Lincoln . Prior County Seats was Postville- Name changed to Camden prior to 1847 (1839-1847), Mt. Pulaski (1847-1853) and Lincoln (1853-Present).

Geography: Land and Water

As reported by the Census Bureau, the county has a total area of 619 square miles (1,603 km2), of which, 618 square miles (1,601 km2) of it is land and 1 square miles (2 km2) of it (0.14%) is water.

Logan county is located close to the center of Illinois. Edward R. Madigan State Fish and Wildlife Area is located in this county.

Neighboring Counties

Bordering counties are as follows:

  • Northeast: McLean County
  • East: DeWitt County
  • Southeast: Macon County
  • Southwest: Sangamon County; Menard County
  • Northwest: Mason County; Tazewell County


Compare More Colleges and Universities
Find the Right School

Find more schools to match to your needs.

County Resources
US Counties
Click Image to Enlarge