Illinois Counties
Illinois County map
Click Image to Enlarge

Illinois Counties

There are one hundred and two counties in Illinois. St. Clair County was the first county established in what is today Illinois. Most counties in Illinois were named after early American leaders, especially of the American Revolutionary War, as well as soldiers from the Battle of Tippecanoe and the War of 1812.

Montgomery County, Illinois

Montgomery County Education, Geography, and HistoryMontgomery County, Illinois Courthouse

Montgomery County is a county located in the state of Illinois. According to the 2010 census, it had a population of 30,104.  Montgomery County was created on February 21, 1821.   The county seat is Hillsboro. The county is named for General Richard Montgomery (1738-1775), brigadier-general in the Continental Army who led the unsuccessful invasion of Canada.

Etymology - Origin of Montgomery County Name

The county is named for General Richard Montgomery, revolutionary soldier of Irish birth. General Montgomery, who led the unsuccessful invasion of Canada, was killed at Quebec in 1775.


County QuickFacts: CensusBureau Quick Facts

Montgomery County History

Montgomery County was created on February 21, 1821 (Laws, 1821, p. 142) and was formed from Bond and Madison Counties. Present area), or parts of it), formerly included in: Fayette (small eastern section) County (1821-1827),Bond County (1817-1821), Madison County (1812-1821), St. Clair County (1790-1812) and Knox), Northwest Territory (1790-1801).

The County was named for Richard Montgomery, a Revolutionary General, of Irish birth, who was killed before Quebec on December 31, 1775. The County Seat is Hillsboro . Prior County Seats was Hamilton- Designated but never established (1821-1823) and Hillsboro (1823-Present).

Geography: Land and Water

As reported by the Census Bureau, the county has a total area of 710 square miles (1,838 km2), of which, 704 square miles (1,823 km2) of it is land and 6 square miles (15 km2) of it (0.84%) is water.

Montgomery county is located close to the center of Illinois. Coffeen Lake State Fish and Wildlife Area is located in this county.

Neighboring Counties

Bordering counties are as follows:

  • Northeast: Christian County; Shelby County
  • Southeast: Fayette County
  • South: Bond County
  • Southwest: Madison County
  • West: Macoupin County
  • Northwest: Sangamon County


Compare More Colleges and Universities
Find the Right School

Find more schools to match to your needs.

County Resources
US Counties
Click Image to Enlarge