Illinois Counties
Illinois County map
Click Image to Enlarge

Illinois Counties

There are one hundred and two counties in Illinois. St. Clair County was the first county established in what is today Illinois. Most counties in Illinois were named after early American leaders, especially of the American Revolutionary War, as well as soldiers from the Battle of Tippecanoe and the War of 1812.

Ogle County, Illinois

Ogle County Education, Geography, and HistoryOgle County, Illinois Courthouse

Ogle County is a county located in the state of Illinois. According to the 2010 census, it had a population of 53,497. Ogle County was created on January 16, 1836. The county seat is Oregon. The county is named for Lieutenant Joseph Ogle (1737-1821), early settler in southwest Illinois, who helped found the first Methodist church in Illinois and member of the territorial militia.

Ogle County comprises Rochelle, IL Micropolitan Statistical Area, which is also included in the Rockford-Freeport-Rochelle, IL Combined Statistical Area.

Etymology - Origin of Ogle County Name

Lieutenant Joseph Ogle, member of the territorial militia.


County QuickFacts: CensusBureau Quick Facts

Ogle County History

Ogle County was created on January 16, 1836 (Laws, 1836, p. 274) and was formed from unorganized land (La Salle County) and Jo Daviess County. County organization was completed in 1837. Present area), or parts of it), formerly included in: Attached to JoDaviess [Laws, 1836, p. 277] (1836-1837), LaSalle County (1831-1836), JoDaviess County (1827-1836), Putnam County (1825-1831), Fulton County (1823-1825), Pike County (1821-1823), Clark County (1819-1821), Crawford County (1816-1819), Edwards County (1815-1816), Madison County (1812-1815), Bond County (1817-1821) and St. Clair County (1795-1812).

The County was named for Joseph Ogle, pioneer politician and Lieutenant of the Territorial militia. The County Seat is Oregon (1838-Present).

Geography: Land and Water

As reported by the Census Bureau, the county has a total area of 763 square miles (1,977 km2), of which, 759 square miles (1,965 km2) of it is land and 4 square miles (11 km2) of it (0.58%) is water.

Ogle county is located in north Illinois. White Pines Forest State Park, Castle Rock State Park and Lowden State Park are located in this county.

Neighboring Counties

Bordering counties are as follows:

  • Northeast: Winnebago County; Boone County
  • Southeast: DeKalb County
  • South: Lee County
  • Southwest: Whiteside County
  • West: Carroll County
  • Northwest: Stephenson County


Compare More Colleges and Universities
Find the Right School

Find more schools to match to your needs.

County Resources
US Counties
Click Image to Enlarge