Illinois Counties
Illinois County map
Click Image to Enlarge

Illinois Counties

There are one hundred and two counties in Illinois. St. Clair County was the first county established in what is today Illinois. Most counties in Illinois were named after early American leaders, especially of the American Revolutionary War, as well as soldiers from the Battle of Tippecanoe and the War of 1812.

Pike County, Illinois

Pike County Education, Geography, and HistoryPike County, Illinois Courthouse

Pike County is a county located in the state of Illinois. According to the 2010 census, it had a population of 16,430. Pike County was created on January 31, 1821. The county seat is Pittsfield. The county is named for Zebulon Pike (1779-1813), early explorer of the American Southwest, namesake of Pikes Peak. Pike county is located in west Illinois.

Etymology - Origin of Pike County Name

The county is named for Zebulon M. Pike, general in the War of 1812, and American explorer after whom Pikes Peak in Colorado was named.


County QuickFacts: CensusBureau Quick Facts

Pike County History

Pike County was created on January 31, 1821 (Laws, 1821, p. 59) and was formed from Madison County . Present area, or parts of it, formerly included in: Madison County (1812-1821) and St. Clair County 1795-1812).

The County was named for Zebulon Pike, an early explorer of the Louisiana purchase. Pike's Peak was named in his honor. He was a General of the War of 1812 and was killed at York, Canada. The County Seat is Pittsfield. Prior County Seats was Coles' Grove- Now Gilead in Calhoun County (1821-1824), Atlas (1824-1833) and Pittsfield (1833-Present).

Geography: Land and Water

As reported by the Census Bureau, the county has a total area of 849 square miles (2,199 km2), of which, 830 square miles (2,150 km2) of it is land and 19 square miles (48 km2) of it (2.19%) is water.

Pike county is located in west Illinois. Pike County is located on the highlands between the Illinois River on the eastern border, and the Mississippi River on the west.

Neighboring Counties

Bordering counties are as follows:

  • Northeast: Brown County
  • East: Morgan County; Scott County
  • Southeast: Greene County; Calhoun County
  • Southwest: Pike County, Mo.
  • West: Ralls County, Mo.
  • Northwest: Marion County, Mo.; Adams County


Compare More Colleges and Universities
Find the Right School

Find more schools to match to your needs.

County Resources
US Counties
Click Image to Enlarge