Illinois Counties
Illinois County map
Click Image to Enlarge

Illinois Counties

There are one hundred and two counties in Illinois. St. Clair County was the first county established in what is today Illinois. Most counties in Illinois were named after early American leaders, especially of the American Revolutionary War, as well as soldiers from the Battle of Tippecanoe and the War of 1812.

Pulaski County, Illinois

Pulaski County Education, Geography, and HistoryPulaski County, Illinois Courthouse

Pulaski County is a county located in the state of Illinois. According to the 2010 census, it had a population of 6,161. Pulaski County was created on March 3, 1843.The county seat is Mound City. The county is named for General Casimir Pulaski (1745-1779), Polish American general of cavalry in the American Revolutionary War.

Etymology - Origin of Pulaski County Name

The county is named for Count Casimir Pulaski, Polish hero who was killed in the attack on Savannah, GA, in 1779.


County QuickFacts: CensusBureau Quick Facts

Pulaski County History

Pulaski County was created on March 3, 1843 (Laws, 1843, p. 99.) and was formed from Alexander and Johnson Counties. Present area, or parts of it, formerly included in: Johnson County (1812-1843), Alexander County (1819-1843), Union County (1818-1819), Randolph County (1795-1812) and St. Clair County (1790-1795).

The County was named for Count Kazimierz Pulaski, a Polish exile who espoused the cause of the Colonies during the Revolution and was killed at the attack on Savannah in 1779. The County Seat is Mound City. Prior County Seats was Caledonia (1843-1865) and Mound City (1865-Present).

Geography: Land and Water

As reported by the Census Bureau, the county has a total area of 203 square miles (527 km2), of which, 201 square miles (520 km2) of it is land and 3 square miles (7 km2) of it (1.25%) is water.

Pulaski county is located in south Illinois. Part of Cypress Creek National Wildlife Refuge and part of Tunnel Hill State Trail are located in this county.

Neighboring Counties

Bordering counties are as follows:

  • Northeast: Johnson County
  • East: Massac County
  • Southeast: Ballard County, Ky.
  • Southwest: Mississippi County, Mo.
  • West: Alexander County
  • Northwest: Union County


Compare More Colleges and Universities
Find the Right School

Find more schools to match to your needs.

County Resources
US Counties
Click Image to Enlarge