Illinois Counties
Illinois County map
Click Image to Enlarge

Illinois Counties

There are one hundred and two counties in Illinois. St. Clair County was the first county established in what is today Illinois. Most counties in Illinois were named after early American leaders, especially of the American Revolutionary War, as well as soldiers from the Battle of Tippecanoe and the War of 1812.

Tazewell County, Illinois

Tazewell County Education, Geography, and HistoryTazewell County, Illinois Courthouse

Tazewell County is a county located in the state of Illinois. According to the 2010 census, it had a population of 135,394. Tazewell County was created on January 31, 1827. The county seat and largest city is Pekin. The county is named for Littleton Waller Tazewell (1774-1860), United States Senator from (and later governor of) Virginia.

Tazewell County is part of the Peoria, IL Metropolitan Statistical Area. The majority of the population live along the western border of the county.

Etymology - Origin of Tazewell County Name

The county is named for Littleton W. Tazewell, United States Senator from Virginia.


County QuickFacts: CensusBureau Quick Facts

Tazewell County History

Tazewell County was created on January 31, 1827 (Laws, 1827, p. 113) and was formed from unorganized land (Peoria County ) and Fayette County. Present area, or parts of it, formerly included in: Peoria County (1825-1827), Sangamon County (1821-1825), Bond County (1817-1821), Madison County (1812-1821), St. Clair County (1790-1812) and Knox, Northwest Territory (1790-1801).

The County was named for Littleton Waller Tazewell, an eminent lawyer, Governor, Representative in Congress, and United States Senator from Virginia. The County Seat is Pekin . Prior County Seats was Mackinaw (1827-1831), Pekin (1831-1836), Tremont (1836-1849) and Pekin (1850-Present).

Geography: Land and Water

As reported by the Census Bureau, the county has a total area of 658 square miles (1,704 km2), of which, 649 square miles (1,681 km2) of it is land and 9 square miles (23 km2) of it (1.37%) is water.

Tazewell county is located close to the center of Illinois. Spring Lake Fish and Wildlife Area is located in this county.

Neighboring Counties

Bordering counties are as follows:

  • Northeast: Woodford County
  • East: McLean County
  • Southeast: Logan County
  • Southwest: Mason County
  • West: Fulton County
  • Northwest: Peoria County


Compare More Colleges and Universities
Find the Right School

Find more schools to match to your needs.

County Resources
US Counties
Click Image to Enlarge