Missouri Counties
Missouri County map
Click Image to Enlarge

Missouri Counties

Missouri has one hundred and fourteen counties and one independent city. St. Louis City is separate from St. Louis County and is referred to as a "city not within a county." Following the Louisiana Purchase and the admittance of Louisiana into the United States in 1812, five counties were formed out of the Missouri Territory at the first general assembly. Most subsequent counties were apportioned from these five original counties.

Barry County, Missouri

Barry County Education, Geography, and HistoryBarry County, Missouri Courthouse

Barry County is a county located in the southwest portion of the state of Missouri. As of the 2010 US Census, the population was 35,597. Its county seat is Cassville. The county was organized in 1835 and named after William Taylor Barry, a US Postmaster General from Kentucky.

Etymology - Origin of Barry County Name

Named for US Postmaster General William T. Barry.


County QuickFacts: CensusBureau Quick Facts

History of Barry County

Organized January 5, 1835; named in honor of William T. Barry of Kentucky, a member of President Jackson's cabinet and Postmaster General 1829-1835, the first appointment to that office. Died August 30, 1835, in Liverpool, while Minister to Spain. (J.H. Thomas; Eaton (46) I p. 205)

Source: Bell, Margaret E. "Place Names In The Southwest Border Counties Of Missouri." M.A. thesis., University of Missouri-Columbia, 1933.

Geography: Land and Water

As reported by the Census Bureau, the county has a total area of 791 square miles (2,050 km2), of which 778 square miles (2,020 km2) is land and 13 square miles (34 km2) (1.6%) is water. Roaring River State Park is located in the southern part of the county, amid the Mark Twain National Forest.

Neighboring Counties

Bordering counties are as follows:

  • Lawrence County (north)
  • Stone County (east)
  • Carroll County, Arkansas (southeast)
  • Benton County, Arkansas (south)
  • McDonald County (southwest)
  • Newton County (northwest)


Public schools

Cassville R-IV School District - Cassville
Exeter R-VI School District - Exeter
Monett R-I School District - Monett
Purdy R-II School District - Purdy
Shell Knob School District No. 78 - Shell Knob
Southwest R-V School District - Washburn
Wheaton R-III School District - Wheaton

Private schools

St. Lawrence Catholic School - Monett (K-06) - Roman Catholic

Compare More Colleges and Universities
Find the Right School

Find more schools to match to your needs.

County Resources
US Counties
Click Image to Enlarge