Missouri Counties
Missouri County map
Click Image to Enlarge

Missouri Counties

Missouri has one hundred and fourteen counties and one independent city. St. Louis City is separate from St. Louis County and is referred to as a "city not within a county." Following the Louisiana Purchase and the admittance of Louisiana into the United States in 1812, five counties were formed out of the Missouri Territory at the first general assembly. Most subsequent counties were apportioned from these five original counties.

Buchanan County, Missouri

Buchanan County Education, Geography, and HistoryBuchanan County, Missouri Courthouse

Buchanan County is a county located in the state of Missouri. As of the 2010 US Census, the population was 89,201. Its county seat is St. Joseph. When originally formed in 1838, the county was named Roberts County, after settler Hiram Roberts; it was renamed in 1839 for James Buchanan, then a US Senator and later President of the United States. The county was formed from land annexed to Missouri, as were five other counties.

Buchanan County is included in the St. Joseph, MO-KS Metropolitan Statistical Area.

Etymology - Origin of Buchanan County Name

Named for James Buchanan, senator from Pennsylvania and later United States president.


County QuickFacts: CensusBureau Quick Facts

History of Buchanan County

Buchanan County was organized February 10, 1839, and named in honor of James Buchanan of Pennsylvania, who afterwards became President of the United States. At that time he represented the United States at the Court of St. Petersburg and was a popular idol at home. Formerly the county was known as Roberts County (q.v.). (Eaton, p. 263; Campbell, p. 73-4; HIST. BUCHANAN 1881, p. 152; HIST. BUCHANAN & ST. JOSEPH, 1904, p. 25; BOONVILLE WEEKLY ADV., Nov. 10, 1911, p. 2)

Source: Ewing, Martha K. "Place Names In The Northwest Counties Of Missouri." M.A. thesis., University of Missouri-Columbia, 1929.

Geography: Land and Water

As reported by the Census Bureau, the county has a total area of 415 square miles (1,070 km2), of which 408 square miles (1,060 km2) is land and 6.6 square miles (17 km2) (1.6%) is water

Neighboring Counties

Bordering counties are as follows:

  • Andrew County (north)
  • DeKalb County (northeast)
  • Clinton County (east)
  • Platte County (south)
  • Atchison County, Kansas (southwest)
  • Doniphan County, Kansas (northwest)


Public schools

Buchanan County R-IV School District - De Kalb
Mid-Buchanan County R-V School District - Faucett
St. Joseph School District - St. Joseph

Private schools

Baptist Temple Schools - St. Joseph (K-12) - Baptist
Cathedral School & Early Childhood Center - St. Joseph (NS/PK-08) - Roman Catholic
Prescott Seventh-day Adventist School - St. Joseph (02-08) - Seventh-day Adventist
St. Francis Xavier School - St. Joseph (K-09) - Roman Catholic
St. James School - St. Joseph (K-09) - Roman Catholic
St. Joseph Christian School - St. Joseph (PK-12) - Nondenominational Christian
St. Paul Lutheran School - St. Joseph (K-09) - Lutheran
St. Joseph KinderCare - St. Joseph (NS-PK)
South Park Christian Academy - St. Joseph (K-12) - Pentecostal
Bishop LeBlond High School - St. Joseph (09-12) - Roman Catholic

Compare More Colleges and Universities
Find the Right School

Find more schools to match to your needs.

County Resources
US Counties
Click Image to Enlarge