Missouri Counties
Missouri County map
Click Image to Enlarge

Missouri Counties

Missouri has one hundred and fourteen counties and one independent city. St. Louis City is separate from St. Louis County and is referred to as a "city not within a county." Following the Louisiana Purchase and the admittance of Louisiana into the United States in 1812, five counties were formed out of the Missouri Territory at the first general assembly. Most subsequent counties were apportioned from these five original counties.

Caldwell County, Missouri

Caldwell County Education, Geography, and HistoryCaldwell County, Missouri Courthouse

Caldwell County is a county located in the state of Missouri. As of the 2010 US Census, the county's population was 9,424. Its county seat is Kingston. The county was organized December 29, 1836 and named by Alexander Doniphan to honor John Caldwell, who participated in the George Rogers Clark Native American Campaign of 1786 and was the second Lieutenant Governor of Kentucky.

Etymology - Origin of Caldwell County Name

According to Floyd C. Shoemaker, Doniphan probably referred to Colonel John Caldwell, the famous soldier for whom Caldwell County, Kentucky was named. Mathew Caldwell has also been cited as the man for whom the Missouri county was named.


County QuickFacts: CensusBureau Quick Facts

History of Caldwell County

This county was organized December 29, 1836 from a part of Ray. It was named by General Alexander M. Doniphan in honor of Matthew Caldwell, commander of Indian Scouts in Kentucky. General Doniphan's father, Joseph Doniphan, had belonged to Captain Caldwell's Indian Scouts and had often spoke of Captain Caldwell as a brave and gallant soldier. (BOONVILLE WEEKLY ADV., Nov. 10, 1911, p. 2; Eaton, p. 265; SESSION LAWS, 1841, p. 47; HIST. OF CALD & DAV., 1886, p. 105; Parker, p. 200)

Source: Ewing, Martha K. "Place Names In The Northwest Counties Of Missouri." M.A. thesis., University of Missouri-Columbia, 1929.

Geography: Land and Water

As reported by the Census Bureau, the county has a total area of 430 square miles (1,100 km2), of which 426 square miles (1,100 km2) is land and 3.2 square miles (8.3 km2) (0.8%) is water

Neighboring Counties

Bordering counties are as follows:

  • Daviess County (north)
  • Livingston County (east)
  • Carroll County (southeast)
  • Ray County (south)
  • Clinton County (west)
  • DeKalb County (northwest)


Public Schools

Braymer C-4 School District - Braymer
Breckenridge R-I School District - Breckenridge
Cowgill R-VI School District - Cowgill
Kingston School District No. 42 - Kingston
Mirabile C-1 School District - Polo
New York R-IV School District - Hamilton
Polo R-VII School District - Polo

Compare More Colleges and Universities
Find the Right School

Find more schools to match to your needs.

County Resources
US Counties
Click Image to Enlarge