Missouri Counties
Missouri County map
Click Image to Enlarge

Missouri Counties

Missouri has one hundred and fourteen counties and one independent city. St. Louis City is separate from St. Louis County and is referred to as a "city not within a county." Following the Louisiana Purchase and the admittance of Louisiana into the United States in 1812, five counties were formed out of the Missouri Territory at the first general assembly. Most subsequent counties were apportioned from these five original counties.

Callaway County, Missouri

Callaway County Education, Geography, and HistoryCallaway County, Missouri Courthouse

Callaway County is a county located in the state of Missouri. As of the 2010 US Census, the county's population was 44,332. Its county seat is Fulton. The county was organized November 25, 1820, and named for Captain James Callaway, grandson of Daniel Boone. Callaway County is also referred to as "The Kingdom of Callaway" after an incident in which residents confronted Union troops during the US Civil War.

Callaway County is part of the Jefferson City, MO Metropolitan Statistical Area.

Etymology - Origin of Callaway County Name

Named for James Callaway, Missouri ranger killed by Indians in the War of 1812.


County QuickFacts: CensusBureau Quick Facts

History of Callaway County

Settled by Captain Samuel Boone, nephew of Daniel Boone, in 1818, and organized as a county November 25, 1820. It was named in honor of Captain James Callaway, grandson of Daniel Boone, and one of the leading men of his time in the state. Captain Callaway met his death March 8, 1815 in Montgomery County, where he had led an attack on the Sacs and Foxes who had stolen some horses from the settlers near Loutre Island. (HIST. CALLAWAY, p. 94; Eaton, p. 267; Campbell, p. 94)

Source: Pace, Nadine. "Place Names In The Central Counties Of Missouri." M.A. thesis., University of Missouri-Columbia, 1928.

Geography: Land and Water

As reported by the Census Bureau, the county has a total area of 847 square miles (2,190 km2), of which 835 square miles (2,160 km2) is land and 13 square miles (34 km2) (1.5%) is water.

Callaway County lies on the border of transition between prairie and rugged Ozarks. The northern part of the county is relatively flat and devoid of large tracts of forests. The southern border of the county is the Missouri River, and the area is heavily forested over large hills and valleys. Cedar Creek makes up the northern part of the western border.

Neighboring Counties

Bordering counties are as follows:

  • Audrain County (north)
  • Montgomery County (east)
  • Osage County (south)
  • Cole County (southwest)
  • Boone County (west)
  • Gasconade County (southeast)


Public schools

Fulton School District No. 58 - Fulton
Missouri School for the Deaf - Fulton
New Bloomfield R-III School District - New Bloomfield
North Callaway County R-I School District - Kingdom City
South Callaway County R-II School District - Mokane

Private schools

St. Peter Catholic School - Fulton (K-09) - Roman Catholic
Kingdom Christian Academy - Fulton (PK-09) - Nondenominational Christian
Shepherdsfield School - Fulton (K-12) - Nondenominational Christian


Westminster College - Fulton - A private, four-year Presbyterian university.
William Woods University - Fulton - A private, four-year Christian Church (Disciples of Christ) university.

Compare More Colleges and Universities
Find the Right School

Find more schools to match to your needs.

County Resources
US Counties
Click Image to Enlarge