Missouri Counties
Missouri County map
Click Image to Enlarge

Missouri Counties

Missouri has one hundred and fourteen counties and one independent city. St. Louis City is separate from St. Louis County and is referred to as a "city not within a county." Following the Louisiana Purchase and the admittance of Louisiana into the United States in 1812, five counties were formed out of the Missouri Territory at the first general assembly. Most subsequent counties were apportioned from these five original counties.

Carroll County, Missouri

Carroll County Education, Geography, and HistoryCarroll County, Missouri Courthouse

Carroll County is a county located in the state of Missouri. As of the 2010 US Census, the county had a population of 9,295. Its county seat is Carrollton. The county was organized on January 2, 1833 from part of Ray County, Missouri and named for Charles Carroll of Carrollton, a signer of the Declaration of Independence

Etymology - Origin of Carroll County Name

Named for Charles Carroll of Carrollton.


County QuickFacts: CensusBureau Quick Facts

History of Carroll County

Carroll County was organized January 3, 1833 and was named in honor of Charles Carroll of Carrollton, Maryland. The name that was intended to be given to the county was Wakenda but at the time of the county's organization by the legislature just before the bill passed, the news of the death of Charles Carroll reached Jefferson City. A proposition was immediately made to call the new county, Carroll. (Eaton, p. 271; Gannett, p. 70; Williams, HIST. OF N.W. MISSOURI, Vol. I, p. 287; CARROLL COUNTY ATLAS, p. 16; Campbell, p. 112)

Source: Adams, Orvyl Guy. "Place Names In The North Central Counties Of Missouri." M.A. thesis., University of Missouri-Columbia, 1928.

Geography: Land and Water

As reported by the Census Bureau, the county has a total area of 701 square miles (1,820 km2), of which 695 square miles (1,800 km2) is land and 6.8 square miles (18 km2) (1.0%) is water.

Neighboring Counties

Bordering counties are as follows:

  • Livingston County (north)
  • Chariton County (east)
  • Saline County (southeast)
  • Lafayette County (southwest)
  • Ray County (west)
  • Caldwell County (northwest)


Public schools

Bosworth R-V School District - Bosworth
Carrollton R-VII School District - Carrollton
Hale R-I School District - Hale
Norborne R-VIII School District - Norborne
Tina-Avalon R-II School District - Tina

Compare More Colleges and Universities
Find the Right School

Find more schools to match to your needs.

County Resources
US Counties
Click Image to Enlarge