Missouri Counties
Missouri County map
Click Image to Enlarge

Missouri Counties

Missouri has one hundred and fourteen counties and one independent city. St. Louis City is separate from St. Louis County and is referred to as a "city not within a county." Following the Louisiana Purchase and the admittance of Louisiana into the United States in 1812, five counties were formed out of the Missouri Territory at the first general assembly. Most subsequent counties were apportioned from these five original counties.

Cedar County, Missouri

Cedar County Education, Geography, and HistoryCedar County, Missouri Courthouse

Cedar County is a county located in the southwest portion of the state of Missouri. Based on the 2010 census, the population was 13,982. Its county seat is Stockton. The county was founded February 14, 1845, and named after Cedar Creek, a tributary of the Sac River, which in turn is named from the Eastern red cedar, a common tree of the area.

Etymology - Origin of Cedar County Name

Named for its abundance of cedar trees.


County QuickFacts: CensusBureau Quick Facts

History of Cedar County

Cedar County was named from Cedar Creek (q.v.). Eaton is mistaken when he says that the county took its name from its main stream. Sac River is the main stream, as it runs entirely across the county from south to north. The upper half of Cedar Creek lies in Dade County, while the lower half is in Cedar. He is right in the statement that cedars are along its bluffs. That was true of most of the hill streams in the early days. The county was organized February 14, 1845, by an act of the Legislature. (Session Acts 1844-5; R.L. Myers)

Source: Meyers, Robert Lee. "Place Names In The Southwest Counties Of Missouri." M.A. thesis., University of Missouri-Columbia, 1930.

Geography: Land and Water

As reported by the Census Bureau, the county has a total area of 499 square miles (1,290 km2), of which 474 square miles (1,230 km2) is land and 24 square miles (62 km2) (4.8%) is water. The water area includes various rivers and Stockton Lake.

Neighboring Counties

Bordering counties are as follows:

  • St. Clair County (north)
  • Polk County (east)
  • Dade County (south)
  • Hickory County (northeast)
  • Vernon County (west)


Public schools

El Dorado Springs R-II School District - El Dorado Springs
Stockton R-I School District - Stockton

Private schools

Agape Boarding School - Stockton (01-12) - Baptist - Boys
El Dorado Christian School - El Dorado Springs (PK-12) - Church of God

Compare More Colleges and Universities
Find the Right School

Find more schools to match to your needs.

County Resources
US Counties
Click Image to Enlarge