Missouri Counties
Missouri County map
Click Image to Enlarge

Missouri Counties

Missouri has one hundred and fourteen counties and one independent city. St. Louis City is separate from St. Louis County and is referred to as a "city not within a county." Following the Louisiana Purchase and the admittance of Louisiana into the United States in 1812, five counties were formed out of the Missouri Territory at the first general assembly. Most subsequent counties were apportioned from these five original counties.

Christian County, Missouri

Christian County Education, Geography, and HistoryChristian County, Missouri Courthouse

Christian County is a county located in the southwestern part of the state of Missouri. Based on the 2010 census, the population was 77,422. Its county seat is Ozark. The county was organized in 1859 and is named after William Christian, a Kentucky soldier of the American Revolutionary War.

Christian County is part of the Springfield, MO Metropolitan Statistical Area.

Etymology - Origin of Christian County Name

Named for William Christian, Kentucky Revolutionary War soldier.


County QuickFacts: CensusBureau Quick Facts

History of Christian County

Organized March 8, 1859, from portions of Greene, Webster, and Taney Counties. It is said to have been named Christian from the county of that name in Kentucky and at the request of an old lady, Mrs. Tom Nervis, who had lived in the Kentucky county. (John Rogers; Eaton (46) II, p. 275)

Source: Bell, Margaret E. "Place Names In The Southwest Border Counties Of Missouri." M.A. thesis., University of Missouri-Columbia, 1933.

Geography: Land and Water

As reported by the Census Bureau, the county has a total area of 564 square miles (1,460 km2), of which 563 square miles (1,460 km2) is land and 1.2 square miles (3.1 km2) (0.2%) is water. The county is drained by James River and branches of the White River. The surface is undulating or hilly

Neighboring Counties

Bordering counties are as follows:

  • Greene County (north)
  • Webster County (northeast)
  • Douglas County (east)
  • Taney County (south)
  • Stone County (southwest)
  • Lawrence County (west)


Public schools

Billings R-IV School District - Billings
Chadwick R-I School District - Chadwick
Clever R-V School District - Clever
Nixa R-II School District - Nixa
Ozark R-VI School District - Ozark
Sparta R-III School District - Sparta
Spokane R-VII School District - Spokane

Private schools

Faith Christian School - Spokane - (PK-12) - Baptist

Colleges and universities

Columbia College - Ozark Campus - Private - Nonsectarian

Compare More Colleges and Universities
Find the Right School

Find more schools to match to your needs.

County Resources
US Counties
Click Image to Enlarge