Missouri Counties
Missouri County map
Click Image to Enlarge

Missouri Counties

Missouri has one hundred and fourteen counties and one independent city. St. Louis City is separate from St. Louis County and is referred to as a "city not within a county." Following the Louisiana Purchase and the admittance of Louisiana into the United States in 1812, five counties were formed out of the Missouri Territory at the first general assembly. Most subsequent counties were apportioned from these five original counties.

Cooper County, Missouri

Cooper County Education, Geography, and HistoryCooper County, Missouri Courthouse

Cooper County is a county located in the central portion of the state of Missouri. Based on the 2010 census, the population was 17,601. Its county seat is Boonville. The county was organized December 17, 1818 and named for Sarshell Cooper, a frontier settler who was killed by Native Americans near Arrow Rock in 1814

Etymology - Origin of CooperCounty Name

Named for Sarshel (Benjamin) Cooper, pioneer settler.


County QuickFacts: CensusBureau Quick Facts

History of Cooper County

Cooper County was organized on December 18, 1818, and "named for Sarshell Cooper, who was killed by an Indian in Cooper's Fort opposite Arrow Rock. One wall of Cooper's log cabin formed a part of the wall of the fort. The Indian stealthily, in a rain or snow storm, removed a part of the chinking, and through the opening, shot Cooper while sitting by the fire with a child on his lap. The child was uninjured." (D.W. Eaton, X, p. 280; HIST. MISSOURI, p. 197; Gannett, p. 91; Barns, p. 196)

Source: Pace, Nadine. "Place Names In The Central Counties Of Missouri." M.A. thesis., University of Missouri-Columbia, 1928.

Geography: Land and Water

As reported by the Census Bureau, the county has a total area of 569 square miles (1,470 km2), of which 565 square miles (1,460 km2) is land and 4.4 square miles (11 km2) (0.8%) is water.

Neighboring Counties

Bordering counties are as follows:

  • Howard County (north)
  • Boone County (northeast)
  • Moniteau County (southeast)
  • Morgan County (south)
  • Pettis County (west)
  • Saline County (northwest)


Public schools

Blackwater R-II School District - Blackwater
Boonville R-I School District - Boonville
Cooper County R-IV School District - Bunceton
Otterville R-VI School District - Otterville
Pilot Grove C-4 School District - Pilot Grove
Prairie Home R-V School District - Prairie Home

Private schools

Saints Peter & Paul School - Boonville (K-09) - Roman Catholic
Zion Lutheran School - Bunceton (02-08) - Lutheran
St. Joseph Elementary School - Pilot Grove (02-09) - Roman Catholic

Compare More Colleges and Universities
Find the Right School

Find more schools to match to your needs.

County Resources
US Counties
Click Image to Enlarge