Missouri Counties
Missouri County map
Click Image to Enlarge

Missouri Counties

Missouri has one hundred and fourteen counties and one independent city. St. Louis City is separate from St. Louis County and is referred to as a "city not within a county." Following the Louisiana Purchase and the admittance of Louisiana into the United States in 1812, five counties were formed out of the Missouri Territory at the first general assembly. Most subsequent counties were apportioned from these five original counties.

Dade County, Missouri

Dade County Education, Geography, and HistoryDade County, Missouri Courthouse

Dade County is a county located in the southwest part of the state of Missouri. Based on the 2010 census, the population was 7,883. Its county seat is Greenfield. The county was organized in 1841 and named after Major Francis L. Dade of Virginia, who was killed in the Seminole War in 1835

Etymology - Origin of Dade County Name

Named for Francis L. Dade, pioneer settler.


County QuickFacts: CensusBureau Quick Facts

History of Dade County

Dade County was set apart from Polk and Barry Counties by a Formative Act of January 29, 1841. This formation was followed by an Approval Act of February 15, 1841. These acts were followed by a Limiting Act of March 29, 1845, in which ten miles was taken off of the north and given to Cedar County, and nine miles from the south end added to Lawrence County. The county was named for Francis L. Dade, a Virginian, who became a lieutenant, captain, and brevet-major in the United States Army. He was killed in a treacherous attack by the Seminole Indians in 1835, near Fort King, Florida. (Colonel William F. Switzler; Missouri (16), p. 445; Session Laws 1840-1841)

Source: Meyers, Robert Lee. "Place Names In The Southwest Counties Of Missouri." M.A. thesis., University of Missouri-Columbia, 1930.

Geography: Land and Water

As reported by the Census Bureau, the county has a total area of 506 square miles (1,310 km2), of which 490 square miles (1,300 km2) is land and 16 square miles (41 km2) (3.2%) is water

Neighboring Counties

Bordering counties are as follows:

  • Cedar County (north)
  • Polk County (northeast)
  • Greene County (southeast)
  • Lawrence County (south)
  • Jasper County (southwest)
  • Barton County (west)


Public schools

Dadeville R-II School District - Dadeville
Everton R-III School District - Everton
Greenfield R-IV School District - Greenfield
Lockwood R-I School District - Lockwood

Private schools

Immanuel Lutheran School - Lockwood (PK-08) - Lutheran
Faith Fellowship Christian Academy - Greenfield (PK-10) - Baptist

Compare More Colleges and Universities
Find the Right School

Find more schools to match to your needs.

County Resources
US Counties
Click Image to Enlarge