Missouri Counties
Missouri County map
Click Image to Enlarge

Missouri Counties

Missouri has one hundred and fourteen counties and one independent city. St. Louis City is separate from St. Louis County and is referred to as a "city not within a county." Following the Louisiana Purchase and the admittance of Louisiana into the United States in 1812, five counties were formed out of the Missouri Territory at the first general assembly. Most subsequent counties were apportioned from these five original counties.

Daviess County, Missouri

Daviess County Education, Geography, and HistoryDaviess County, Missouri Courthouse

Daviess County is a county located in the state of Missouri. Based on the 2010 census, the population was 8,433. Its county seat is Gallatin. The county was organized December 29, 1836, from Ray County and named for Major Joseph Hamilton Daveiss, a soldier from Kentucky who was killed in 1811 at the Battle of Tippecanoe

Etymology - Origin of Daviess County Name

Named for Joseph H. Daviess, Kentucky soldier in the War of 1812.


County QuickFacts: CensusBureau Quick Facts

History of Daviess County

This county was named in honor of Colonel Joseph H. Daviess, "who fell in the battle of Tippecanoe" November 7, 1811. It was organized in 1836, extending from its southern limit to the Iowa line, but was reduced to its present limits in 1845, with the organization of Harrison County. (Eaton, p. 283; Ibid, Conard, p. 235; HIST. DAVIESS, 1882, p. 235; HIST. DAVIESS & GENTRY, p. 71; SESSION LAWS, 1834-5, p. 51)

Source: Ewing, Martha K. "Place Names In The Northwest Counties Of Missouri." M.A. thesis., University of Missouri-Columbia, 1929.

Geography: Land and Water

As reported by the Census Bureau, the county has a total area of 569 square miles (1,470 km2), of which 563 square miles (1,460 km2) is land and 5.8 square miles (15 km2) (1.0%) is water.

Neighboring Counties

Bordering counties are as follows:

  • Harrison County (north)
  • Grundy County (northeast)
  • Livingston County (southeast)
  • Caldwell County (south)
  • DeKalb County (west)
  • Gentry County (northwest)


Of adults 25 years of age and older in Daviess County, 84.0% possess a high school diploma or higher, while 14.4% hold a bachelor's degree or higher as their highest educational attainment.

Public schools

Gallatin R-V School District - Gallatin
North Daviess County R-III School District - Jameson
Pattonsburg R-II School District - Pattonsburg
Tri-County R-VII School District - Jamesport
Winston R-VI School District - Winston

Private schools

Country View School - Jamesport - (01-08) - Amish
Hickory Hill School - Jamesport - (01-08) - Amish
Jamesport Mennonite School - Jamesport - (01-08) - Mennonite
Meadow View School - Jamesport - (01-07) Amish
Oak Grove School - Jamesport - (01-08) - Amish
Spring Hill School - Jamesport - (01-08) - Amish
Walnut Creek School - Jamesport - (01-08) - Amish

Compare More Colleges and Universities
Find the Right School

Find more schools to match to your needs.

County Resources
US Counties
Click Image to Enlarge