Missouri Counties
Missouri County map
Click Image to Enlarge

Missouri Counties

Missouri has one hundred and fourteen counties and one independent city. St. Louis City is separate from St. Louis County and is referred to as a "city not within a county." Following the Louisiana Purchase and the admittance of Louisiana into the United States in 1812, five counties were formed out of the Missouri Territory at the first general assembly. Most subsequent counties were apportioned from these five original counties.

DeKalb County, Missouri

DeKalb County Education, Geography, and HistoryDeKalb County, Missouri Courthouse

DeKalb County is a county located in the northwest portion of the state of Missouri. Based on the 2010 census, the population was 12,892. Its county seat is Maysville. The county was organized February 25, 1845 and named for General Johann de Kalb, Baron de Kalb, of the Revolutionary War.

DeKalb County is part of the St. Joseph, MO-KS Metropolitan Statistical Area, which is also included in the Kansas City-Overland Park-Kansas City, MO-KS Combined Statistical Area.

Etymology - Origin of DeKalb County Name

Named for Johann Kalb, Baron deKalb. Baron deKalb was a German-born officer who served with the French Army and was killed in the American Revolution.


County QuickFacts: CensusBureau Quick Facts

History of DeKalb County

When Missouri was admitted to the union, the present counties north of the Missouri River were included in Ray County. In 1822 Clay County was organized, and included the present county of De Kalb. In 1833 the county was again annexed to Clinton for civil and military purposes, and it was not until 1845 that De Kalb was made a separate and distinct county. It was named in honor of Baron John De Kalb, "a Frenchman of Revolutionary fame, who was killed in the battle of Camden in 1780." (Eaton, p. 284; HIST. HARRISON, p. 119; SESSION LAWS, 1844-5, p. 40; ATLAS DE KALB, 1877)

Source: Ewing, Martha K. "Place Names In The Northwest Counties Of Missouri." M.A. thesis., University of Missouri-Columbia, 1929.

Geography: Land and Water

As reported by the Census Bureau, the county has a total area of 426 square miles (1,100 km2), of which 421 square miles (1,090 km2) is land and 4.5 square miles (12 km2) (1.0%) is water

Neighboring Counties

Bordering counties are as follows:

  • Gentry County (north)
  • Daviess County (east)
  • Caldwell County (southeast)
  • Clinton County (south)
  • Buchanan County (southwest)
  • Andrew County (west)


Public Schools

Maysville R-I School District - Maysville
Osborn R-0 School District - Osborn
Stewartsville C-2 School District - Stewartsville
Union Star R-II School District - Union Star

Compare More Colleges and Universities
Find the Right School

Find more schools to match to your needs.

County Resources
US Counties
Click Image to Enlarge