Missouri Counties
Missouri County map
Click Image to Enlarge

Missouri Counties

Missouri has one hundred and fourteen counties and one independent city. St. Louis City is separate from St. Louis County and is referred to as a "city not within a county." Following the Louisiana Purchase and the admittance of Louisiana into the United States in 1812, five counties were formed out of the Missouri Territory at the first general assembly. Most subsequent counties were apportioned from these five original counties.

Douglas County, Missouri

Douglas County Education, Geography, and HistoryDouglas County, Missouri Courthouse

Douglas County is a county located in the south-central portion of the state of Missouri. Based on the 2010 census, the population was 13,684. The county seat and only incorporated community is Ava. The county was officially organized on October 19, 1857, and is named after US Senator Stephen A. Douglas (D-Illinois) and later Democratic presidential candidate.

Etymology - Origin of Douglas County Name

Named for Stephen A. Douglas, Illinois senator and later presidential candidate.


County QuickFacts: CensusBureau Quick Facts

History of Douglas County

Organized October 19, 185, from portions of Taney and Webster Counties and named for Stephen A. Douglas (1813-1861), senator from Illinois (1847-1861), and nominated for the Presidency in 1860. In 1857 Douglas was at the height of his power and popularity. (Eaton (46) V, p. 43; T.A. Kay)

Source: Bell, Margaret E. "Place Names In The Southwest Border Counties Of Missouri." M.A. thesis., University of Missouri-Columbia, 1933.

Geography: Land and Water

As reported by the Census Bureau, the county has a total area of 815 square miles (2,110 km2), of which 814 square miles (2,110 km2) is land and 1.0 square mile (2.6 km2) (0.1%) is water

Neighboring Counties

Bordering counties are as follows:

  • Webster County (northwest)
  • Wright County (north)
  • Texas County (northeast)
  • Howell County (east)
  • Ozark County (south)
  • Taney County (southwest)
  • Christian County (west)


Public schools

Ava R-I School District - Ava
Plainview R8 School District - Goodhope, Missouri
Skyline R2 School District - Norwood, Missouri

Private schools

Ava Victory Academy - Ava - (PK-06) - Non-denominational Christian
Mt. Zion Bible Academy - Ava - (PK-12) - Church of God

Compare More Colleges and Universities
Find the Right School

Find more schools to match to your needs.

County Resources
US Counties
Click Image to Enlarge