Missouri Counties
Missouri County map
Click Image to Enlarge

Missouri Counties

Missouri has one hundred and fourteen counties and one independent city. St. Louis City is separate from St. Louis County and is referred to as a "city not within a county." Following the Louisiana Purchase and the admittance of Louisiana into the United States in 1812, five counties were formed out of the Missouri Territory at the first general assembly. Most subsequent counties were apportioned from these five original counties.

Gentry County, Missouri

Gentry County Education, Geography, and HistoryGentry County, Missouri Courthouse

Gentry County is a county located in the northwestern portion of the state of Missouri. Based on the 2010 census, the population was 6,738. Its county seat is Albany. The county was organized February 14, 1841 and named for Colonel Richard Gentry of Boone County who fell in the Seminole War in 1837.

Named: Named for Richard Gentry, Seminole War general.


County QuickFacts: CensusBureau Quick Facts

History of Gentry County

In 1841 Gentry was set apart from Clinton County but it was not organized until 1845. The name was given in honor of Colonel Richard Gentry who lived in Boone County at the outbreak of the Florida War. On the battlefield of Okeechobee, Colonel Gentry is said to have directed his troops for an hour after he received a mortal wound. (HIST. GENTRY & WORTH, p. 92-3; HIST. DAVIESS & GENTRY, p. 216; J.S. Williams; BOONVILLE WEEKLY ADV., Nov. 10, 1911, p. 2)

Source: Ewing, Martha K. "Place Names In The Northwest Counties Of Missouri." M.A. thesis., University of Missouri-Columbia, 1929.

Geography: Land and Water

As reported by the Census Bureau, the county has a total area of 492 square miles (1,270 km2), of which 491 square miles (1,270 km2) is land and 0.3 square miles (0.78 km2) (0.06%) is water.

Neighboring Counties

Bordering counties are as follows:

  • Worth County (north)
  • Harrison County (east)
  • Daviess County (southeast)
  • DeKalb County (south)
  • Andrew County (southwest)
  • Nodaway County (west)


Public schools

Albany R-III School District - Albany
King City R-I School District - King City
Stanberry R-II School District - Stanberry

Compare More Colleges and Universities
Find the Right School

Find more schools to match to your needs.

County Resources
US Counties
Click Image to Enlarge