Missouri Counties
Missouri County map
Click Image to Enlarge

Missouri Counties

Missouri has one hundred and fourteen counties and one independent city. St. Louis City is separate from St. Louis County and is referred to as a "city not within a county." Following the Louisiana Purchase and the admittance of Louisiana into the United States in 1812, five counties were formed out of the Missouri Territory at the first general assembly. Most subsequent counties were apportioned from these five original counties.

Greene County, Missouri

Greene County Education, Geography, and HistoryGreene County, Missouri Courthouse

Greene County is a county located in the state of Missouri. Based on the 2010 census, the population was 275,174, making it the fourth-most populous county in Missouri. Its county seat is Springfield. The county was organized in 1833 and is named after American Revolutionary War General Nathanael Greene.

Greene County is included in the Springfield, MO Metropolitan Statistical Area.

Etymology - Origin of Greene County Name

Named for Nathaniel Greene, Revolutionary War general.


County QuickFacts: CensusBureau Quick Facts

History of Greene County

Organized by an act of the Legislature, on January 2, 1833. The act named the county "in honor of Nathaniel Greene of the Revolution." (Session Acts 1832-1833)

Source: Meyers, Robert Lee. "Place Names In The Southwest Counties Of Missouri." M.A. thesis., University of Missouri-Columbia, 1930.

Geography: Land and Water

As reported by the Census Bureau, the county has a total area of 678 square miles (1,760 km2), of which 675 square miles (1,750 km2) is land and 2.6 square miles (6.7 km2) (0.4%) is water

Neighboring Counties

Bordering counties are as follows:

  • Polk County (north)
  • Dallas County (northeast)
  • Webster County (east)
  • Christian County (south)
  • Lawrence County (southwest)
  • Dade County (northwest)


Public schools

Ash Grove R-IV School District - Ash Grove
Fair Grove R-X School District - Fair Grove
Logan-Rogersville R-VIII School District - Rogersville
Republic R-III School District - Republic
Springfield R-XII School District - Springfield
Strafford R-VI School District - Strafford
Walnut Grove R-V School District - Walnut Grove
Willard R-II School District - Willard

Private schools

Christian Schools of Springfield - (PK-12) - Springfield - Baptist
Grace Classical Academy - (PK-12) - Springfield - Nondenominational Christianity
Greenwood Laboratory School - (K-12) - Springfield - Nonsectarian
Immaculate Conception School - (PK-8) - Springfield - Roman Catholic
New Covenant Academy - (PK-12) - Springfield - Nondenominatonal Christianity
Springfield Catholic High School - (09-12) - Springfield - Roman Catholic
Springfield Lutheran School - (PS-8) - Springfield - Lutheran MO Synod
St. Agnes Cathedral School - (PK-8) - Springfield - Roman Catholic
St. Elizabeth Ann Seton School - (PK-5) - Springfield - Roman Catholic
The Summit Preparatory School of Southwest Missouri - (PK-12) - Springfield - Nonsectarian

Alternative/other schools

Bailey Educational Center - (09-12) - Springfield - Alternative/Other School
Community Learning Center - (06-12) - Springfield - Alternative/Other School
Datema House - (05-12) - Springfield - Alternative/Other School
Excel School - (06-12) - Springfield - Alternative/Other School
Graff Career Center - (09-12) - Springfield - Vocational/Technical School
Greene County Special Education Cooperative - (K-12) - Republic - Special Education
Greene Valley - Springfield - Special Education
Phelps Gifted Center - (01-12) - Springfield - Alternative/Other School/Gifted Education
Wilson Creek Group Home - (06-12) - Springfield - Alternative/Other School

Colleges and universities

Missouri State University - Springfield - Formerly known as Southwest Missouri State University - A public, four-year university.
Evangel University - Springfield - A private, four-year Pentecostal liberal arts university.
Drury University - Springfield - A private, four-year liberal arts university.
Bible Baptist College - Springfield - A private, conservative Bible college owned by the Baptist Bible Fellowship International.
Ozarks Technical Community College: Allied Health - Springfield - A public, two-year community college.
Everest College - Springfield - A public, four-year for-profit Corinthian college.

Compare More Colleges and Universities
Find the Right School

Find more schools to match to your needs.

County Resources
US Counties
Click Image to Enlarge