Missouri Counties
Missouri County map
Click Image to Enlarge

Missouri Counties

Missouri has one hundred and fourteen counties and one independent city. St. Louis City is separate from St. Louis County and is referred to as a "city not within a county." Following the Louisiana Purchase and the admittance of Louisiana into the United States in 1812, five counties were formed out of the Missouri Territory at the first general assembly. Most subsequent counties were apportioned from these five original counties.

Hickory County, Missouri

Hickory County Education, Geography, and HistoryHickory County, Missouri Courthouse

Hickory County is a county located in the state of Missouri. Based on the 2010 census, the population was 9,627. Its county seat is Hermitage. The county was organized February 14, 1845, and named after President Andrew Jackson, whose nickname was "Old Hickory."

Etymology - Origin of Hickory County Name

Named for United States President Andrew Jackson, nicknamed "Old Hickory."


County QuickFacts: CensusBureau Quick Facts

History of Hickory County

Located near the center of southwest Missouri. It is bounded on the north by Benton County, on the east by Camden and Dallas, on the south by Polk, and on the west by St. Clair County. Organized February 14, 1845, the year of President Jackson's death. Named in honor of President Andrew Jackson (1767-1845), who was known affectionately as "Old Hickory," because of the strength and toughness of his character. Jackson, victorious commander at the Battle of New Orleans, January 8, 1815, was the seventh president of the United States. (1828-1836). He died at the "Hermitage" on June 8, 1845. Gannett says this name, alone or with suffixes, is borne by forty-six places in the United States. At least two others, towns in Newton County, Mississippi, and Catawba County, North Carolina, are known to have been named for "Old Hickory." Doubtless the county would have been named Jackson if Jackson County, Missouri, organized in 1826, just after Jackson's first unsuccessful candidacy for President, had not been twenty years ahead of it. Cf. also Jackson Township in Camden County. (Eaton (1917) 172; Century Dict., Gannett; J.O. Taylor)

Source: Overlay, Fauna R. "Place Names Of Five South Central Counties Of Missouri." M.A. thesis., University of Missouri-Columbia, 1943.

Geography: Land and Water

As reported by the Census Bureau, the county has a total area of 412 square miles (1,070 km2), of which 399 square miles (1,030 km2) is land and 13 square miles (34 km2) (3.1%) is water. It is the fifth-smallest county in Missouri by area.

Neighboring Counties

Bordering counties are as follows:

  • Benton County (north)
  • Camden County (east)
  • Dallas County (southeast)
  • Polk County (south)
  • St. Clair County (west)


Public schools

Hermitage R-IV School District - Hermitage
Hickory County R-I School District - Urbana
Weaubleau R-III School District - Weaubleau
Wheatland R-II School District - Wheatland

Compare More Colleges and Universities
Find the Right School

Find more schools to match to your needs.

County Resources
US Counties
Click Image to Enlarge