Missouri Counties
Missouri County map
Click Image to Enlarge

Missouri Counties

Missouri has one hundred and fourteen counties and one independent city. St. Louis City is separate from St. Louis County and is referred to as a "city not within a county." Following the Louisiana Purchase and the admittance of Louisiana into the United States in 1812, five counties were formed out of the Missouri Territory at the first general assembly. Most subsequent counties were apportioned from these five original counties.

Howard County, Missouri

Howard County Education, Geography, and HistoryHoward County, Missouri Courthouse

Howard County is a county located in the state of Missouri, with its southern border made by the Missouri River. Based on the 2010 census, the population was 10,144. Its county seat is Fayette. The county was organized January 23, 1816 and named for Benjamin Howard, the first Governor of the Missouri Territory.

Etymology - Origin of Howard County Name

Named for Benjamin Howard, governor of the Missouri Territory.


County QuickFacts: CensusBureau Quick Facts

History of Howard County

Howard County was organized on January 23, 1816, and named in honor of Benjamin Howard, the governor of Upper Louisiana, which became Missouri territory June 4, 1812. Because thirty-one counties were later carved out of the original Howard County, she has borne the name "Mother of Counties." (Parker, p. 266; Gannett, p. 162; Barns, p. 177)

Source: Pace, Nadine. "Place Names In The Central Counties Of Missouri." M.A. thesis., University of Missouri-Columbia, 1928.

Geography: Land and Water

As reported by the Census Bureau, the county has a total area of 472 square miles (1,220 km2), of which 464 square miles (1,200 km2) is land and 7.7 square miles (20 km2) (1.6%) is water

Neighboring Counties

Bordering counties are as follows:

  • Chariton County (northwest)
  • Randolph County (northeast)
  • Boone County (southeast)
  • Cooper County (south)
  • Saline County (west)


Public schools

Fayette R-III School District - Fayette
Glasgow School District - Glasgow
New Franklin R-I School District - New Franklin

Private schools

St. Mary' Catholic School - Glasgow (K-08) - Roman Catholic
Grace & Glory Christian Academy - New Franklin (K-12) - Baptist


Central Methodist University - Fayette - A private, four-year Methodist university.

Compare More Colleges and Universities
Find the Right School

Find more schools to match to your needs.

County Resources
US Counties
Click Image to Enlarge