Missouri Counties
Missouri County map
Click Image to Enlarge

Missouri Counties

Missouri has one hundred and fourteen counties and one independent city. St. Louis City is separate from St. Louis County and is referred to as a "city not within a county." Following the Louisiana Purchase and the admittance of Louisiana into the United States in 1812, five counties were formed out of the Missouri Territory at the first general assembly. Most subsequent counties were apportioned from these five original counties.

Jasper County, Missouri

Jasper County Education, Geography, and HistoryJasper County, Missouri Courthouse

Jasper County is a county located in the southwest portion of the state of Missouri. Based on the 2010 census, the population was 117,404. Its county seat is Carthage, and its largest city is Joplin. The county was organized in 1841 and named for William Jasper, a hero of the American Revolutionary War.

Jasper County is included in the Joplin, MO Metropolitan Statistical Area. The Jasper County Sheriffs office has jurisdiction throughout the county.

Etymology - Origin of Jasper County Name

Named for William Jasper, Revolutionary War soldier.


County QuickFacts: CensusBureau Quick Facts

History of Jasper County

Jasper County, organized January 29, 1841, by an act of the State Legislature, was named for Sergeant William Jasper (1750-1779), who replaced the fallen flag on Fort Moultrie, June 28, 1776, and who lost his life while trying to replace the colors on Spring Hill redoubt, near Savannah, Georgia, on October 7, 1779. (Session Acts 1840-1841; Eaton (28), p. 178)

Source: Meyers, Robert Lee. "Place Names In The Southwest Counties Of Missouri." M.A. thesis., University of Missouri-Columbia, 1930.

Geography: Land and Water

As reported by the Census Bureau, the county has a total area of 641 square miles (1,660 km2), of which 638 square miles (1,650 km2) is land and 2.8 square miles (7.3 km2) (0.4%) is water.

Neighboring Counties

Bordering counties are as follows:

  • Barton County (north)
  • Dade County (northeast)
  • Lawrence County (east)
  • Newton County (south)
  • Cherokee County, Kansas (west)
  • Crawford County, Kansas (northwest)


Public schools

Avilla R-XIII School District - Avilla
Carl Junction R-I School District - Carl Junction
Carthage R-IX School District - Carthage
Jasper R-V School District - Jasper
Joplin R-VIII School District - Joplin
Sarcoxie R-II School District - Sarcoxie
Webb City R-VII School District - Webb City

Private schools

Thomas Jefferson Independent Day School - Joplin (K-12) - Nonsectarian (Special Education)
Joplin Area Catholic Schools - Joplin (PK-12) - Roman Catholic
St. Mary' Elementary School (PK-05)
St. Peter' Middle School (06-08)
McAuley Catholic High School (09-12)
Martin Luther School - Joplin (PK-08) - Lutheran
College Heights Christian School - Joplin (PK-12) - Nondenominational Christian
St. Ann' Catholic School - Carthage (PK-06) - Roman Catholic


Missouri Southern State University - Joplin. A public, four-year university.

Compare More Colleges and Universities
Find the Right School

Find more schools to match to your needs.

County Resources
US Counties
Click Image to Enlarge