Missouri Counties
Missouri County map
Click Image to Enlarge

Missouri Counties

Missouri has one hundred and fourteen counties and one independent city. St. Louis City is separate from St. Louis County and is referred to as a "city not within a county." Following the Louisiana Purchase and the admittance of Louisiana into the United States in 1812, five counties were formed out of the Missouri Territory at the first general assembly. Most subsequent counties were apportioned from these five original counties.

Laclede County, Missouri

Laclede County Education, Geography, and HistoryLaclede County, Missouri Courthouse

Laclede County is a county located in the state of Missouri. Based on the 2010 census, the population was 35,571. Its county seat is Lebanon. The county was organized February 24, 1849, and was named after Pierre Lacl├Ęde, founder of St. Louis.

Laclede County comprises the Lebanon, MO Micropolitan Statistical Area.

Etymology - Origin of Laclede County Name

Named for Pierre Laclede Liguest, founder of St. Louis.


County QuickFacts: CensusBureau Quick Facts

History of Laclede County

Located in south-central Missouri, bounded by Camden and Pulaski on the north, on the east by Pulaski and Texas, on the south by Wright andf Webster, and on the west by Dallas. Formed from Pulaski County. The petition to form the county passed the state legislature March 27, 1845, and the first election was held the first Monday in April, 1849. Named by the legislature to honor Pierre Liguest Laclede, founder of St. Louis, who died June 20, 1778. (HIST. LACLEDE (1889), p. 3; Eaton, MISSOURI HIST. REV., vol. 2, p. 182)

Source: O'Brien, Anna. "Place Names Of Five Central Southern Counties of Missouri." M.A. thesis., University of Missouri-Columbia, 1939.

Geography: Land and Water

As reported by the Census Bureau, the county has a total area of 768 square miles (1,990 km2), of which 765 square miles (1,980 km2) is land and 3.3 square miles (8.5 km2) (0.4%) is water.

Neighboring Counties

Bordering counties are as follows:

  • Camden County (north)
  • Pulaski County (northeast)
  • Texas County (southeast)
  • Wright County (south)
  • Webster County (southwest)
  • Dallas County (west)


Public schools

Laclede County R-I School District - Conway
Gasconade C-4 School District - Falcon
Lebanon R-III School District - Lebanon
Stoutland R-II School District - Stoutland

Compare More Colleges and Universities
Find the Right School

Find more schools to match to your needs.

County Resources
US Counties
Click Image to Enlarge